Will I actually keep up a Blog?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
April 3rd 2011
Published: April 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

OK here goes! In just two months I'll be heading off on my latest adventure - six and a half weeks - Dubai, Morocco, Spain and Prague.

The official excuse for this trip is to celebrate turning forty! The real reason is I don't need an excuse to travel just some funding (hence the job). I always had the idea that I'd travel and travel I have. Crossed off plenty of places off my to do list but the more places I visit the longer the list gets.

I'm good at this travelling lark for the most part if I say so myself. That said I know there are ways to improve:

1) Pack Less - don't get me wrong I've never been close to paying for excess baggage at a check in counter but I have spent weeks carrying around items that only got pulled out of my pack when it was time to repack.
Resolution this trip - leave Melbourne with no more than 10 kilos in the pack and return with no more than 15.
To be honest with this one I think I have no chance but if that's what I aim for it may mean when it comes time to pack I may think twice about packing that thing I just end up repacking.

2) Keep a Journal - I always promised myself to do this on my first few trips and always let myself down. I admitted defeat and gave up. In the last couple of years I've regretted it when I've wanted to recall some name, event or place but know I don't have it 100%! (MISSING)
Resolution this trip - keep a blog. With my trusty iPad how hard can it be to keep some notes when I have spare ten minutes and upload when I find wi-fi? I guess we will find out?

3) Keep in Touch - some would argue I don't have to be travelling to be bad at this. It can be even harder when your on the road - who wants to spend time in a Internet cafe when you could be doing ...well anything.
Resolution this trip - see point 2. Can the girl who never logs onto facebook actually log onto and write a regular blog?

Some of you may have your doubts. To be honest so do I but one of my favorite quotes is "A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step." Lao Tzu

So let's just call this step one.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb