Moomba, Mclachlan, and other Random Notes


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 18th 2005
Published: March 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Me and SarahMe and SarahMe and Sarah

Here I am posing with Sarah Mclachlan after the concert in Melbourne.
Hi everybody. Sorry it has been so long since the last post but school is keeping me very busy at the moment. My classes, while very interesting are a lot of work! But it hasnt been all reading and writing, I have had a couple of fun distractions from the books.

On Thursday I went to the Sarah Mclachlan concert at the Regent Theatre in Melbourne. Not only did I get to see a fantastic concert, I got to meet Sarah herself! She was extremly nice and I got both a picture with her, and she signed one of my c.d.s as well. Very exciting stuff.

Last weekend was also Labour Day over here (I have to admit it was a bit weird to celebrate Labour Day in March instead of September). Every year Melbourne holds an annual festival called "Moomba". Basically that means "Let's get together and have fun" in aboriginal or something like that. They have a big parade, fireworks, streetfair, etc.

The city itself is great. There's always something going on that's interesting and it has a really good feel to it. It's very relaxed, clean, and safe with lots of
Some of the International GangSome of the International GangSome of the International Gang

Here we have me, Rish from Sri Lanka, Marta from Spain, and Shane an Aussie taking a study break
parks and cool cafes.

Besides being busy, I am enjoying school. The International Relations program is quite small and social so we do a lot outside of class. Half the post-grad program is also made up of international students which makes things quite interesting. A bunch of us went out to eat last weekend and out of 8 people there, 6 different nations were represented.

I am also getting on well with my new roommates. I am currently sharing a house with two Australians not far from school. Easter break is coming soon. I was thinking about going up to Sydney for our week break, but unfourntanely I have 3 essays all due the following week. So it looks like I am going to be spending most of it in the library. Hopefully after I'm through with my essays I'll have some more time to explore. Will keep you updated.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Another Study BreakAnother Study Break
Another Study Break

Marta, Shane, and Mullah from Ethiopia
My Aussie HomeMy Aussie Home
My Aussie Home

A look at the house I'm staying out. Very close to campus, and in walking distance to lots of shops.
Jamie and CarenJamie and Caren
Jamie and Caren

My two roomies.
My other two roomiesMy other two roomies
My other two roomies

Gustav the cat and Homer the puppy. Homer was named after Homer Simpson and acts a lot like his namesake.
The State Library Of VictoriaThe State Library Of Victoria
The State Library Of Victoria

Melbourne's main research library...and a place I have gotten to know quite well over the last few weeks.
Twilight in the CityTwilight in the City
Twilight in the City

A look at the skyline from Federation Square. Fed Square is right across from Flinders St. Station and a focal point of the city. Every weekend they turn it into a market with people selling books, music, and fruit.


19th March 2005

Good stuff honey. See, things have a way of working out, even if you have to move around the world to meet a singing Canadian. Will see you soon. When you gonna jump the ditch, see the hobbits? - Pete
21st March 2005

Hey Jodi- I'm so jealous of your pix with Sara.. that's so cool that you got to see her. I'll be sure to tell Kevin Floyd... Take Care! Jamie T. - Jamie
21st March 2005

You're so lucky!!!
Hi Jodi! Thanks for the updates. Its so cool to see all the thigns you're doing, where you live and your friends. I'm so impressed (and jealous!) Keep enjoying yourself. That's what life is all about! Big hugs to you! Cindy - Cindy Farmer

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0934s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb