Summer holidays (part 2)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 31st 2005
Published: January 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

View of MelbourneView of MelbourneView of Melbourne

Taken from the Shrine of Remembrance.
Courtesy of work, I just spent two weeks back home in Melbourne, with a day trip to Sydney.

It was very strange being home - probably the worst culture shock I've ever experienced. It wasn't just the extreme quiet of the streets compared to Bangkok, being out in the 'burbs again, the cleanliness, the lack of pollution, the weather, the wide streets, the different trees, everyone looking very white and overweight, the dreadful accents, but, most of all, the relaxed and comfortable nature of life, the much higher cost of goods and services, and the ability to spend lots of money on luxury goods and attendant materialism. It was very hard to stomach this, after living here where people earn so much less and have much more restricted choices than in Australia, and after having seen the grinding poverty in Cambodia. It would be nice to think that Australians wake up every day thanking their lucky stars (well, most of them) but of course they don't. It made me seriously consider whether or not I want to live in Australia ever again, because it is hard to see how I deserve to live amongst such comfort and ease while I know there are others whose lives are a constant struggle. Even more so, do I want to live with so many people who barely even think about those whose lives are a constant struggle? (And before people jump to the defense of Australia and Australians, I'll remind you that a majority of people in that country voted for John Howard...)

Nevertheless, it was great to see my wonderful friends, family, and dog again, and to see quality movies. I love yaz all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Sam running after his ballSam running after his ball
Sam running after his ball

I have so missed taking him to the park!


13th March 2005

Part of what you wrote sounds almost exactly like something I read the other day - Virginia Woolf I think.
15th March 2005

Hmm - I'm taking that as a compliment, rather than an accusation of plagiarism! What was it?
16th March 2005

No accusation! I 'think' what I'm remembering was in a collection of Woolf's journal writings, put together by her husband after she died. The bit you wrote was "it is hard to see how I deserve to live amongst such comfort and ease while I know there are others whose lives are a constant struggle". My bad memory is telling me Woolf said the same thing, referring to the peace demonstrations occuring at the time. Or something. The only other thing I was reading at the time was some eco-feminisim, and I can't recall it being that personal.

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0167s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb