Anticipation is a bitch...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 24th 2006
Published: March 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The "turtle" lookThe "turtle" lookThe "turtle" look

Me and my monster...with my backpack on! :)
So here I am...

1 hour before being whisked off to the airport...

Wondering what the hell I'm doing... :s


As I finished packing about half hour ago (yes, I am still in the habit of leaving important things to the last possible minute!!), I weighed my previously reasonably light 6.5kg backpack, only to discover it had grown substantially more plump on a diet of clothes, toiletries and other essentials to get me through the months ahead...that is, I am now the proud owner of an 11kg monster- not to mention the 3.5kg daypack...

Grand total: 14.5kgs.

Hmmm...

Decided to take a walk up the street and back to see if I could handle it. All I can say is "Aaarrrrgh!!! HELP!!!" I am definitely reconsidering all those offers of people acting as my pack horse in return for me subsidising their airfare :p

Anyway, all doubts aside, all paranoia (which my mother has kindly instilled in me regarding the cruel nature of the world we live in), all anxiety and apprehensions momentarily forgotten, I am damn excited!!! And, although not a real believer in fortunes, I feel the need to mention that I opened a fortune cookie a few days ago, which contained the following message:

"You will be very lucky."

Now, not exactly sure what that refers to, but I took it as a sign of good things to come. (Having said that, my next fortune read "You will be struck down by the hand that feeds you". Ok, so I just made that one up, but hey, you never can be too careful , right?!)

So Europe, watch out, cos here I come!!

Having said that, first stop is Bangkok, Thailand, where I will be spending what appears to be a steamy and thunderstorm-filled 8 days (yes, I checked the weather forecast- 35 degrees and rain for the next week- yikes!).

Ok, so here I go. Out into the unknown. I'll try to share as much of the journey as I go- so stay tuned!

I sure hope that fortune cookie is right...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb