Wearing my feet out


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 6th 2010
Published: February 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Eureka TowerEureka TowerEureka Tower

At 92 stories, the tower is the world's tallest residential building.
Following another early night I awoke this morning to take one more run through Melbourne. I went along a similar route though I did about a half mile less. The weather was much nicer for this and would be throughout the day.

I ran into Silva (I’m still guessing at that name) again at breakfast this morning. I learned that she purchased a station wagon for her journey and would have all the paperwork in order within the next week. She’s pretty tough to be caravanning throughout Australia, especially since she’ll frequently be sleeping in her car to save money.

My first tour of the day followed breakfast. I arrived a few minutes before the opening of the Eureka Tower building to try and beat the Skydeck crowd getting in since it’s the most popular attraction in Melbourne. The crowd didn’t end up being a problem.

The Skydeck is a viewing platform on the 88th floor of the Eureka Tower building. It is the Southern Hemisphere’s highest viewing platform, about 300 meters (984 feet) high. The Eureka Tower is the world’s tallest residential building and contains 92 stories. The top 10 levels have 24-carat gold plated glass.
Views of MelbourneViews of MelbourneViews of Melbourne

The winds on the viewing platform didn't stop me from enjoying views like this; the site of the Australian Open tennis tournament.

I rode the elevator to the 88th floor in less than 40 seconds, traveling at more than 9 meters per second. When I stepped out, I was greeted by southwestern Melbourne. I immediately picked out the hostel building. Farther off in the distance were the port and beaches. I slowly walked around the floor, observing the town around me, much of which I had already seen but not at this vantage point.

I readily picked out the city center, St. Paul’s Cathedral and Federation Square. Shifting my view right just a bit took me to the sporting complex, where I could easily pick out the tennis complex where the Australian Open was concluded just a week ago.

The north side of the platform had an open terrace and the Edge, a section of the building that protrudes and has a plexiglass floor, apparently giving the sensation that you’re walking on air. I went out on the terrace and took in better views of the surrounding area. It was surprisingly chilly up there, with strong winds swirling around. After doing the free terrace, I opted not to pay to do the Edge as it seemed a bit overrated after
St. Kilda homeSt. Kilda homeSt. Kilda home

St. Kilda's homes had their own unique architectural style.
being on the terrace.

I left the Eureka Tower and headed into town to Southern Cross Station, the station where I arrived the other day, to get my Greyhound bus pass. For AU$425, I secured a bus pass that allows me to make unlimited stops over six months heading northward from Melbourne to Cairns, my final stop in Australia. I also booked my journey for tomorrow to Sydney, a 14 hour trip with stops.

The rest of the day’s touring was in St. Kilda. I took the long way down, walking about two miles from the hostel to the St. Kilda area. Along the way I stopped for a brief lunch at the South Melbourne Market.

About an hour later, I arrived at the St. Kilda beaches. The first section of beach I saw was devoted to kite surfing, where surfers would use kites that looked a bit like parachutes to propel them across the water. The better ones were all over the area, jumping waves and doing flips and spins. There were also plenty of beginners taking lessons, struggling to get the form.

I walked farther down the beach and came upon an odd shaped
Kite surfingKite surfingKite surfing

A section of St. Kilda beach was dedicated to people who were kite surfing.
boardwalk that was more a ramp than anything else. After a quick walk onto the sand and putting my feet in the water, I found a spot on the wall, took off my shirt and caught a few rays.

My next stop was Luna Park. I initially thought this would be a nature park, like most others I had seen. It turned out it is actually an amusement park. I walked around it for a few minutes before heading through St. Kilda town to Fitzroy Street. There I caught the tram back into town. I was not about to walk back. My feet were incredibly sore from wearing sandals all over the place.

Tonight I found another Grill’d joint where I had another chicken sandwich and chips. After dinner I took care of my Sydney accommodations before heading off to bed to read and sleep.

Tomorrow is going to be a long day in a bus.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

BeachBeach
Beach

My view of the ocean with my feet in the water.


14th February 2010

That new building in Dubai
I don't think the Eurika Tower is the tallest residential building in the world now. Two months ago they just opened that new building in Dubai (in the Persian Gulf). I am like 95% sure, but I believe the top half of that is all residential.

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb