the land down under...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 25th 2006
Published: February 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I have now been here 25 days and still haven't really done a lot in the way of touristy things...
However, we have moved from the living room floor of our friends house to a room in this gigantic house. It is a big three bedroom place a few blocks down the road from where we were staying before. There are two others who live there, an aussie and a girl from France who doesn't really speak much english. The flatmates are about as good as they get in a sharehouse situation, everyone keeps to themselves and does their own thing. In our room the ceilings are like 15 feet high and we even have a fireplace (not that we would use it in this heat) but it is nice to wake up and see this huge mantle, I feel like we are royalty. We have a tiny back yard, no grass, just cement, and a little front stoop for chilling. Next door we have this huge park called Endinburgh Gardens which has a skate park, a children's playground, some tennis courts, bbq's, the whole works! It spreads over like 3 blocks, it's really nice to stroll around in at night, especially when the bats are out. I can't remeber if I told you before or not, but the bats here are huge!! They honestly look like eagles soaring above you, but they are fruit bats! I will get some photos of them soon...
So other than our move, not much has happened. I am currently looking for some part-time work to keep me busy until we start travelling along the coast. We think that we are going to try and buy a cheap car and drive up to Queensland and camp along the way in our tent. We would also like to drive down the great ocean road and head west a little ways to see the 12 apostles and wilson's promenade. Once we start doing stuff like that, the pictures and the stories will get a whole lot more interesting. We actually might go to the aquarium today to see a giant squid and we are supposed to go on a short camping trip on Monday for a few days. Hopefully that pans out.
Brett's just mainly skating, there is a whole bunch of other skaters here from Canada and they been skating everyday since they arrived. They leave on March 7th or something so after that we can actually start doing all the fun things. It isn't much fun to do it on your own, so I will just wait patiently.
The weather here right now is unbelievably hot! It actually feels like I am back in Thailand. Last night was the first night in a very long time that I actually had to sleep with no covers at all, and was still sweating like crazy. It reached 36 yesterday and was 35 the few days prior. I really like the sun, but right now I wish we could have just one day to cool off. You feel so lazy, it's terrible. All I want to do is drink beer whilst a fan blows cool air on me...
Well, I must go, my library time is running short. I went out the other night and took a few photos, enjoy...

February 27th, 2006
I didn't get to finish my blog that day because my time ran out at the library for the internet. The weirdest thing happened afterwards. I had wished in my blog for one day to cool off, and I received just that. When I walked out the door of the library the weather had changed so rapidly from mega sunshine to mega rain. It was pouring so hard and the wind was blowing quite crazy too. I had my bike here and had to ride it back home, by the time I got back home, I was completely soaked. The water level was so high that at the street corners the water came up almost to my knee. There were actually kids with their swimsuits on playing in the water and cheering as the cars drove by and splashed them. It was the most bizarre thing, and it kept up on and off all that day.
I am actually off to go camping now, we are heading out to Wilson's Promenade for the next two days. I am so excited!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



1st March 2006

g'day mate!
Those houses look awesome! Must be nice to have so much sun! Weather's getting better here too, starting to feel like spring now. L6 has been pretty short staffed lately. Well hope you're takin it easy, remember to take more pics!

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb