Moving Pictures


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 4th 2006
Published: February 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

As I write this, I am in my company's office in San Francisco, ostensibly working on business news, but in reality, I am on the equivalent of a death watch. All of the reporters here pull a Sat. or Sun. shift about once every three or four months, and little really happens in the business world on the weekends, but somebody needs to be around in case a plane crashes or the IAEA votes to refer Iran to the UN Security Council.

Which it did today. Damn, actually had to work between rounds of coffee.

Ah, but we get a compensation day for working on the weekend, and I plan on using that in less than two weeks when I head to Australia...Also known as America With One Single Accent.

My fiancee, knowing that I have always dreamed about a trip Down Under, surprised me with a week outside of Melbourne. If we survive the 14.5 hour flight (leaving on a Wed. evening, arriving Friday morning, and Thursday just disappearing), the 2-hour layover in Sydney, the 1.5 hour flight to Melbourne, however long it takes to get our luggage and the rental car, and then the 1-hour or so drive to Kyenton, where we are staying, we should have a great time.

As if planning for this trip weren't enough, Megan and I are getting married in October. More on that later, but rest assured, it is never a dull moment right now.

And more on Australia, and recent trips to Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic, Boston, Seattle, North Carolina and California's Yosemite National Park, to come.

I am The Wolf. I solve problems.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb