Starting Out . . . Wheres The Work?!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 5th 2009
Published: February 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Starting out is quite the understatement of the year. . .

Ahoy hoy!!

I haven’t yet jumped on that plane and set off, and already things are a little overwhelming. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t expect any of this to be easy, and have prepared myself for what’s to come, but I did not predict this economy landside. Everything has been organised except for accommodation and work after I finish my Contiki tour. I figured finding work in a pub wouldn’t be overly difficult, particularly considering the experience I already have, but it’s proving quite a challenge. Rumours of 6 pubs across the UK closing weekly isn’t reassuring me of anything either. I have no doubt that I’ll find work, I seem to always manage to fall into job's etc, but being on the other side of the world, I don’t want to leave this up to fate entirely.

My question to anyone reading this is; do you know anywhere that will possibly employ me and a mate come about early-mid May? Is it better looking for work in place like Leeds, Manchester, Middlesbrough etc, or better off looking in London? Anyone know of good places for accommodation.

No matter what im going, im spending as much time as the local authorities and my bank account will allow me to, and if I have to rely on fate to find me that job so be it, its work plentiful in the past, but any help will be appreciated.

Seeing that this is my first blog I don’t know how many will read this, but expect a lot more exciting ones once im on my way, particularly on the Contiki. That should be slightly Wild!!!

Catch ya soon,

Whoppa.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb