Work and some Australian open


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 26th 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Fed SquareFed SquareFed Square

down at fed square watching some tennis on the big screen
A few weeks ago the Australian Open began. Thats huge here in in Australia and incase you don't have a clue what that is, its a tennis tournament about a 25 minute walk from here. So even with Australia day as the first day of the week my week still wasn't the greatest. I am beginning to realize that this type of physiotherapy isn't for me. The week went kinda slow, even though every night consisted of a some tennis watching. That weekend went fast and it was a three day weekend. Saturday I began by heading to federation square to watch some tennis on the big screen then for dinner had some sushi. At the japanese restarant I had some dessert...it was green tea ice cream, which i don't recommend, and a sweet bean filled waffle. The waffle was shaped like a fish and had kidney beans inside only they were sweet. It was a different taste but it was good. So also during the day on Saturady I decided that I wanted to see Andy Roddick play in the Australian open so I bought a ticket for Sunday even though I was already going on Monday. So sunday I
Fed squareFed squareFed square

some of the female players
went early down to open and got a free face/arm painting. It looked awesome. I had the american flag on my face and Andy Roddick's name down my arm. He played in Hisense Arena but was the third match of the day there. The matches were as follows: Juan Del Potro (ARG) vs Marin Cilic (CRO), Vera Zvonareva (RUS) vs Nadia Patrova (RUS), and then finally Andy Roddick (USA) vs Tommy Robredo (ESP). I was exhaused by the end of the day. My seats were in the sun almost the entire day and I knew I just had to get up the next day and do it again. So the next day, Australian day, which is a public holiday simular to our 4th of July. I also arrived early to the arena so that I could get painted again. This time I got Sarena down my arm and a painted wristband with some stars. This time I watched the matches in RodLaver court, which is the bigger of the 2 arenas. The matches were as follows: Giles Simon (FRE) vs Gael Monfils (FRE), Serena Williams (USA) vs Victoria Azarenka (BLR), and then Rafel Nadal (ESP) vs Fernando Gonzales (CHI). The
Japanese RestaurantJapanese RestaurantJapanese Restaurant

green tea ice cream and a waffle filled with sweet red beans
matches weren't that good today. The first one would have been really competative but Monfils got injured and the game ended. The second game again would have been a close one but Azarenka got really sick and it had to end early. The last match was over very quickly because Nadal has been playing very well. The next week went kinda fast. I watched a lot of tennis. After Andy won on Tuesday I decided to buy a ticket for the Thursday night match: Federer vs Roddick. Well I went and it was awesome but Roddick lost. I will say though my tickets were not the greatest and before going to my seat I ran into some guys who own a box and had an extra ticket. I got invited up there which ended up working out really well. I got a free meal, all I wanted to drink, and airconditioning. The night ended pretty well. I didn't take any pictures because I would have felt like I would have stuck out a bit

Anyways at work its still going. I've realized that I conciously make corrections of words I know Australians don't understand. Like asking for chips instead
Australian OpenAustralian OpenAustralian Open

getting painted to see Roddick
of fries or asking for tomato sauce instead of ketchup which by the way there is no Heinz ketchup here or asking where the toliet is instead of the bathroom. I've found Organic Heinz ketchup which I've tasted at home and its horrible.


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

the final job
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Hisense Arena
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

this is how close I was
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Hisense Arena: Marin Cilic: he was playing Juan Martin Del Potro
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Marin Cilic
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Marin Cilic
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Marin Cilic
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Juan Martin Del Potro
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Andy Roddick vs Tommy Robredo
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

Roddick: sticking the bum out before serving
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

GO ANDY and the STEELRS!!
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

The pictures started to get a bit rough since i was taking them into the sun
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

and he winw!!
Australian OpenAustralian Open
Australian Open

a stress ball signed by alicia munich
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

Fed Square at 8am
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

Fed square at 8am


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb