so I didn't update again.... are we surprised?!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 22nd 2009
Published: January 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Alright, so I kinda suck for not updating like I said I would... one of the many new years resolutions that I have not kept... Ah well... what is life if you aren't living it eh?

So what has been going on... well it's a new year... Americans have a new president, I'm basking in the sun in oz, the economic crisis is gripping Australia and everyone else in the world daily... blah blah blah.

In MY life... well... not a ton going on. I've been working a significant amount in the last few weeks. The cafe I am at has recently been sold, so I'm 2 shifts away from unemployment again... Not really concerned at this point, but Kevin has yet to find a full time position here... so hopefully I'll not have as much trouble. He is however keeping busy at odds and ends... just nothing steady.
We were to go to Queensland a week ago, but decided to postpone until March, as it would likely be cheaper, as it wouldn't be peak season.
We are heading down to Great Ocean Road on Tuesday however for a 5 day camping trip. ( for those of you unaware of the Great Ocean Road... look it up.. it is where the 12 apostle rock formations are.. well 8 now, but you know what I mean) apparently it's one of the most beautiful drives in the country. We are looking VERY VERY forward to it, as we are feeling a little stuffed up in Melbourne as we haven't gone 'travelling' in a few months now.
The weather has been HOT! I experienced my first plus 40 day 2 days ago, and loved it! I wasn't uncomfortable at all, which surprised me. Today however is cooler, but VERY humid. I'm finding it to be much more uncomfortable in general, however that could be to the fact that I'm on day 5 of work... The most I've worked consecutively since I left Canada... sad isn't it?!

Christmas and New Years was great for those of you who are wondering. Learned the art of sun bathing and drinking champagne on Christmas, enjoyed it immensley however, but did have a touch of homesickness as I talked to family and friends. New Years was good, not as warm as previous years apparently however.

Other than that, I've been working hard at organizing music for the Sustainable Living Festival that takes place in February. Very exciting as the programming has been coming along nicely and we are almost done planning it. For those of you interested in looking at it, the website is as follows

http://www.slf.org.au/festival/

Other than that Kevin and I are just enjoying ourselves daily. Been hanging out with Lisa and JM a bit, which is lovely, and sad, cuz they are taking off for the land of Bali and NZ very soon. heartbreaking that my travel canadians are leaving. Already looking forward to the reunion once Kev and I are back home.

Anyways, I promise PROMISE!!! to update the blog once I'm back in a week from the Great Ocean Road with pictures.

Mom gets here in 4 weeks. can't wait

Love you all
Shannon



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb