I've Arrived


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
November 26th 2008
Published: November 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

"Tomorrow" from the plane"Tomorrow" from the plane"Tomorrow" from the plane

This picture doesn't quite convey what I could see from the plane, it was beautiful.
Well, I finally arrived this morning (Wednesday) having left on Monday afternoon, I was really dreading the journey but it wasn't anywhere here as bad as I thought it would be! I couldn't check into my hostel right away when I arrived, so I had to hang around in the clothes I'd been in for 48 hours, YUM... After doing lots of planning I managed to check in and shower, not the nicest of hostels but it's only one night.

I have read that Melbourne is supposed to have a European feel, however in reality it looks like America and it is much hotter than the parts of Europe I've seen. Earlier today I went to the Queen Victoria summer night market, felt rather touristy but I think it was actually mostly full of Australians. I then took a tram down to Federation Square which seems to be the focal point of Melbourne city centre, right next to it is the Yarra River. At first glance the river looks like it should be in Cambridge, what with the boat houses, but then you see massive palm trees beside it and it throws you right off!

So far most people have been friendly and really happy to help, which is great seeing as I'm here on my own! I'm leaving in the morning at 4 for Cairns, I'm looking forward to a smaller town but quite fearful of the heat, I was told today that the Melbourne summer is only like the Cairns winter, eek, sun cream needed!

Please send me your comments so I don't feel too far from home!




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Federation SquareFederation Square
Federation Square

Not bad weather, just taken at dusk.


26th November 2008

Woo!
Argh, Melbourne looks ace. I never went, the nearest I got was a big festival / rave in the bush somewhere near Melbourne. Cairns is tropical, hot AND humid. I suggest mud, rather than suncream... ;) bond x
26th November 2008

Missing you!
Hello sexy, looks like you're having fun and i'm not only envious but missing you already. I'm glad you finally sent me a link to your blog hahaha! Enjoy the heat of Cairns and put suncream on lots and lots and lots and lots!! big hugs xxx
27th November 2008

Hello!!!!!!!
Hi Lizzy Good to hear from you, glad you got there safe. Pictures look really cool. I'll gladly swap places with you - it's freeeeeezing in Brum, although the singing Christmas moose is cheering me up. Look forward to the next installment, keep safe xx
28th November 2008

woop!
You made it! glad the journey wasn't as bad as you thought... sounds like you're having fun. stay in touch. love xx
28th November 2008

Hurrah
Woo! You're really there!! Stay safe xx

Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0774s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb