Happy Easter: Orthodox Style :)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
April 29th 2008
Published: April 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Easter LiturgyEaster LiturgyEaster Liturgy

H.G. Bishop Suriel celebrated Easter liturgy with us
Hello Everyone!

Sorry I haven't been posting for a while...to tell you the truth, not to much has been going on, outside of LOTS of classwork 😊 My classes have picked up and in the past few weeks I've had to give class presentations and turn in a few papers regarding my research proposals for each course. This past weekend, however, we celebrated Easter, so it was a pretty busy but fun weekend. Orthodox Christians around the world celebrated together this weekend, as we follow a calendar separate from the Gregorian calendar that is used in modern day.

I just wanted to share some photos of the event with you, as this was my first holiday outside of Greenville! On Monday, we headed to St. Antony Coptic Monastery in Heathcote (about 2 hours outside Melbourne....out in the COUNTRYside!).

It was a fantastic couple of days and I'm so happy to have met so many new friends around Melbourne!

This coming weekend, I will be helping out at Parliament House with the Rotary sponsored Model United Nations Association citywide competition. So I'll update soon with some more info on the event.

I hope you're all doing well
ProcessionProcessionProcession

The beginning of a verrry long procession of deacons...probably more that 75 deacons!
😊

-Cindy


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

H.G. Bishop SurielH.G. Bishop Suriel
H.G. Bishop Suriel

H.G. delivering several greetings to the church from around the world
End of Liturgy!End of Liturgy!
End of Liturgy!

Rachel and Me after the liturgy was finished :)
Easter Egg HuntEaster Egg Hunt
Easter Egg Hunt

On Sunday, Father Daniel invited me to have Easter Sunday brunch with his family...so we had an easter egg hunt for the kids!
Friends!Friends!
Friends!

Angie's one of my great friends here
We were tired!We were tired!
We were tired!

After all the madness of the egg hunt :)
MonasteryMonastery
Monastery

On Monday, I went with the church to visit the monastery. We began the day with a liturgy. This is the church
More friends!More friends!
More friends!

I met some really cool friends from a church clear across town...meaning I get to go see them soon!
Bishop Suriel's carBishop Suriel's car
Bishop Suriel's car

Haha I stole a picture with Bishop Suriel's SWEET car--its a brand new top of the line Holden (looks like a Cadillac!)
MonasteryMonastery
Monastery

The monastery grounds...so beautiful
Outside of the churchOutside of the church
Outside of the church

This is the mosaic on the outside of the church at the monastery
Way homeWay home
Way home

We saw this really pretty rainbow on the ride home...shortly after that shot, it poured for a good 10 minutes ;) Ah, Melbourne weather


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb