The ultimate roller coaster ride!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 4th 2008
Published: February 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

With everything else thats been happening since we got here, I’ve really struggled to find the time to study for my air law conversion exam - basically a 90 min exam to show you understand the Aussie flying rules which are quite different to UK in three main ways:

1 - you need to fly upside down (obviously)

2- you need to be able to land as close as possible to a BBQ

3 - it is a pre-requisite that you have a supply of cold ones in a cool box in the luggage compartment for when you land at the aforementioned BBQ

So - I decided to take a couple of days off work and put my mind to it. I did the exam yesterday and passed it with flying colours - so the sky is the limit now - ever cloud has a silver lining - I’ll stop (land).

Anyway - recognising that I was taking my time to do the test, one of the instructors at the club promised me a fun flight in the new aircraft if I passed. So, true to his word, thats exactly what we did this evening.

As I drove over to the airport, an incoming thunderstorm looked set to ground us - when I asked if it was still flyable the answer I got was we’ll just dodge the lightning - perfect!

The new aircraft is awesome - totally responsive compared to the warriors which I have been flying. It took a wee bit of getting used to - I powered it up to start the take off roll and even the engine noise sounded really different - it needed a serious amount of rudder pressure to keep it in a straight line going along the runway. Before I knew it, it had more or less lifted itself off the ground with only the slightest bit of control input - really impressive!

So I was expecting my wee “fun flight” to be a general introduction to the Alpha - some steep turns, some stalls - just general handling. But nooooo...

We got up to 5,000ft and the instructor got me to lower the noise and bring the airspeed up to 130kts, so into a slight decent - as soon as it got to 130kts - he got me to pull it level - have a quick glance to make sure the wingtips were level with the horizon and then pull up - pull up - keep pulling up - come on - pull up... now, look up over your shoulder - the ground was now above my head - we were at the top of a loop!!! Keep pulling back, the ground started to appear from the front of the noise - and level off. Unbelievable!!!

Want to do it again, he asked - too right I did!! He helped me through another one, then I did one myself - I was addicted!!!

Next came barrel rolls. He got me to watch the wingtips, and then rolled the wings over so we were again upside down! This one I didn’t get so much, and I need to have a think about what was actually going on -its really disorientating!

Next we climbed back up, pointed the aircraft straight down vertically towards the ground and spun round and round - your life flashes before your eyes!! We recovered the spin at about 3,000 ft and climbed back up...

Next I was shown how to decent from 6,000ft to 1,500ft in less than a minute - basically kill the engine, stall the wings and let the aircraft fall out of the sky!

So we then had a look at the g-force gauge - we pulled 4.5 positive g’s and 2 negative g’s - which I was told was very smooth!! On the positive g’s I felt my mouth expand - probably about 4.5 times! On the neg g’s I got a taste for what it would feel e like to be slim!!

It was an awesome experience and I am now seriously hooked on it!!! Will defo think about signing up for an aerobatic course - its gotta be the ultimate roller coaster!!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0962s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb