Reunion time!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
June 19th 2005
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Meet Han Brit Owen
Queen Victoria Market
Lots of stuff to buy.

I met up with Han, Brit and Owen at the Queen Victoria Market today. It’s much busier on a Sunday! I was hoping to find some souvenirs to send home but was having too much fun making fun of all the cheesy stuff on sale that I didn’t really get around to buying anything. We bought a few snacks and food and then caught the tram to Brit and Owen’s place. They have a really cool place that they decorated really funkily.

We dished up all of the snacks, cheeses and fruits and dug in and chatted away. It was really nice to see Brit and Han again and it was really nice to meet Owen as well.

Han, Brit and I took a short tip out to check out what we could find at the local op shop. Not much on sale that we found but it’s always fun to browse. Then we headed back to Brit and Owen’s place. Han had to go because she had to do some final review for one of her finals tomorrow. Brit, Owen and I watched some Degrassi Junior High shows from season one. Wow, that brought back some memories. It was episodes from the first season and they were filmed back in 1987. I forgot that the kids of Degrassi were the same age as myself. Compared to those kids I had a pretty boring teenage life. They seemed to have so many things to stress out about…shoplifting, teenage pregnancy, adoption, dealing with meeting your birth father. I think my biggest stress at 14 years of age was finding a headband to mach my outfit. Haha Which brings me to the fashions of the late 80’s. What a nightmare! Wild prints. Headbands. Long baggy shirts paired with tight stretchy stirrup pants, beaded necklaces, big earrings, bright colours…

After dinner, digesting and a bit more of Degrassi we went out to Brunswick Street and got some ice cream at Trampoline. Super yummy! I got vanilla bean, Tiramisu and Coffee Crunch. Then we walked around checking out the neighbourhood. There are quite a few nice restaurants and shops located on Brunswick. A few music and book shops were open and we browsed through a couple of them. It’s always nice to browse through a second hand bookshop. Always reminds me that I really should be reading more…

Before we knew it, it was about 10:30 and Brit and Owen dropped me off at the hostel. I’m excited about going up to Bendigo and spending time with Brit, Han and Owen and by the sounds of it their families too. It should be good. I think we may even do a night of camping! Now that should be fun…if not a bit chilly. I really look forward to checking out a part of Australia that is a bit off of the beaten track…or perhaps I’m just assuming Bendigo is not a big tourist magnet. J


Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.044s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb