There is no place like home ???


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 13th 2007
Published: January 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Whilst thumbing through the leaflets for Melbourne's transit system trying to get my head round the train routes, I discovered that there is a town in the suburbs of Melbourne called 'Thornbury', same as my hometown back in England! Given that I am bored and skint, and I promised myself the weekend off from job-hunting, I thought it would be worthwhile spending the $3 for a ticket to Thornbury to discover whether in fact the Melbourne train sytem travels through time and space to somehow magically transport me home, or whether it was just a freaky coincidence!!

Unfortuneately, the transglobal wormhole thingy I was expecting didn't actually exist and the more mundane reality was that Thornbury is in fact a rather rundown suburb in the north of Melbourne. It seems to be some sort of Greek migrant stronghold in the 'burbs. I read somewhere that Melbourne has a higher Greek population than any city in the world except for Athens. I guess quite a lot of them live in Thornbury (Australia)!

The Melbourne City train destinations aren't just limited to the one UK place name. According to my Melbourne transport map there is also: "Newmarket", "Kensington", "St. Albans", "Albion",
St. Mary's SchoolSt. Mary's SchoolSt. Mary's School

Freakily enough, there is a St. Mary's School in my Thornbury too!!
"Tottenham", "Newport", "Epping", "Preston", "Clifton Hill", "Windsor", Brighton Beach", "Hampton", "Sandringham", "Richmond", "Burnley", "Camberwell", "Canterbury", "Surrey Hills", "Box Hill", "Blackburn", "Croydon", "Malvern", "Cheltenham", "Chelsea", "Hastings" and "Pakenham" as well as train stops at the curiously named "Aircraft", "Ivanhoe", "Balaclava" and "Batman" !!!

I'm not sure exactly how many towns called Thornbury exist around the world. A quick look on the internet brought up ones from Canada and New Zealand as well. Mine is certainly the original though as it predates the existence of Australia, New Zealand, Canada and the States (900AD)!

I am well aware that this could be my most random/irrelevant/boring blog to date except for my immediate family and a couple of friends back home from Thornbury (near Bristol, by the way), but it's my travel blog !! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

The dubiously named "Bender Bar"The dubiously named "Bender Bar"
The dubiously named "Bender Bar"

We certainly didn't have one of these back home!!
Thornbury StationThornbury Station
Thornbury Station

Looks like the Melbourne-Thornbury wormhole can also take you to Epping!
Thornbury StationThornbury Station
Thornbury Station

Don't cross the yellow line...
Thornbury Guns n' AmmoThornbury Guns n' Ammo
Thornbury Guns n' Ammo

I don't remember having one of these back home...
Thornbury Coffee BarThornbury Coffee Bar
Thornbury Coffee Bar

Had a coffee and a biscuit in here, it was quite nice...
Thornbury Estate AgentsThornbury Estate Agents
Thornbury Estate Agents

There may be one of these in UK Thornbury too, but I'm not sure. Let me know!
ThornburyThornbury
Thornbury

Bye, bye Thornbury!


16th January 2007

No place like home!
Well we haven't got a station, bowling club or gun shop in the UK Thornbury but we can boast a leisure centre, golf course and chippy. As for 'LJ Hooker, Estate Agent', we have got estate agents by the bucket load and masses of charity shops - a whole high street full of them!
6th February 2007

Bender Bar
Nice to see old 70's slang still in use. Let's bring back Ponce, Spaz and Greebo too!

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0861s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb