A Big Night/Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
February 18th 2020
Published: February 19th 2020
Edit Blog Post

I sit writing this blog at the airport, whilst waiting for our first flight from Melbourne to Doha. One of the hardest things about going away is saying goodbye and there were a few tears when Maggie left us at the departure gate for our 23day adventure.

With a few hours to kill, we kick back in Bar Pulpo by Movido, enjoying overpriced drinks - Maeloc dry apple cider and Moritz beer, whilst people watching. I don't know about you but there's something about airports that I find fascinating. So many people and everyone has a back story or is about to embark on some kind of adventure.

Boarding our Qatar flight at 9.30pm, we were given boarding priority as we were on the Upper Deck. This was a first for us, and given that we'll probably never be able to afford first class or business class, this was the next best thing. I have to mention, when I did online check in the day before, I did receive an notification advising I had been selected for an upgrade - this included premium seating (which was a bed of sorts), food from an a-la carte menu and some other bonuses. I only had to pay $1,800 for the upgrade!!!!! Needless to say, I didn't go ahead with it.

This was the first time we've flown with Qatar Airlines, and we were both very happy. The service was faultness and we were fed and watered every few hours and there was plenty to choose from on the onboard entertainment. I had a nice chat with our flight attendant too and she informed me there were only 50 passengers on the Upper Deck (plus business and first class), and this was where she preferred to be, rather than downstairs where there were 450 passengers and it was a lot busier.

One thing that amused me during our flight was a fellow passenger across the aisle - an older guy perhaps in his 60-70's who was trying to select something to watch or listen to from the onboard entertainment. Curious as to what he would choose, I continued to glance at his screen from my seat and couldn't believe it when he selected 'We Did It - Dora the Explorer's Greatest Hits'.

Now, time to try and get some sleep, until next time.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb