Sweet Sunshine


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Swanston Street
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

LaughterLaughterLaughter

The result of a tickle war on the couch...an outburst of laughter!
Well, I met up with a friend from high school on Monday for lunch. She is here in Australia student teaching. She is actually living over in Perth, but is on holiday from teaching so she made a trip over to Melbourne for a few days to stay with another of her friends. I ended up spending the entire afternoon with her as we went down to the Docklands, Melbourne Central, Fed Square, the ACMI, the State Library, etc. It was so surreal to be the tour guide and not the tourist. I realized how much like "home" this place has become and how comfortable I have started to feel here....it's kind of crazy. I felt so foreign and out of place just 10 weeks ago and now everything seems to just fit. It was great to see her as well. I had not seen her in almost 3 years, I do believe so it was great to spend some time together. It was also nice to be able to spend some time with someone who really knows me and understands what I mean by home. It is true that I have Theresa here, but I had never met her prior to coming Australia even though we're both from Bellarmine. Sarah and I were able to laugh about things, people, situations that go back more than just a week or two. It felt great to make Northern Kentucky references and someone understood. It felt nice to be able to talk about my family and someone understand who I was talking about and what their personalities are without me having to try to explain. It just felt so comforting- just what I needed.

I got back last night from my day with Sarah and our new roommate had moved in. I'm not completely sure on her name yet, so I don't want to screw that one up, but she is from China. I haven't gotten much of a chance to talk to her yet as we've been home at completely different times and she has stayed in her room a lot. But, she did come out to hang out with last night when Berrak came back over to spend the night. It was weird hanging out as 5 people and not just 4. Such is life now, I guess.

Today, I got up and went to my lecture. I came back ate lunch, watched Days of our Lives, talked to Kristina for a very short while and then went to the Post Office and Safeway. I finally got all those letters/postcards/packages sent off...that feels good to have it done! Now, here I sit just having finished dinner and started my laundry. I don't really have much to report other than to say that life is pretty status quo right now. The past two days have been sunny and today was a high of 26!!!!! Do you have any idea how much warmer that is than it has been?! It was like Christmas!

Well, I'm off to get some work done for my classes tomorrow, fold my laundry and hopefully get to bed early. I've been lacking on the sleep department lately.

Love ya!
Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb