The Clocks Runnin'


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Hawthorn
October 5th 2007
Published: October 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, the title of the post tonight is inspired by an email that my grandfather sent me this past week. He was emailing to let me know how happy he is that I've had this opportunity and how I've made so much of it. As more people begin to send these emails, I come to the brutal realization that my time here is ending soon. As Lorie said to me in an email this week- it feels like you were just at the airport so nervous to be leaving. I agree, it does feel like I was just sitting in CVG crying because I had no clue what was ahead of me. I don't know if I ever talked about all the travel it took me to get here. I remember clear as day crying the entire flight from Sydney to Melbourne. The flight attendent probably asked me 15 times if I was okay. I tried to explain to her that I was just in shock and scared at the thought that I was actually halfway around the world by myself. Now, it's almost laughable. I just think back to that weekend last semester when I had the phone conversation with my mom when she told me I needed to decide one way or another whether I was coming as she was spending anymore $ until we knew for sure and I needed to be buying health insurance, my visa, etc. I remember making my pros/cons list about coming and not coming. As my grandpa said, he's so glad that I went with my gut and came anyway...even though I was very close to stopping myself. It's not that there was ever a point when I didn't want to come- I was just scared. That's the same reason I cried all the way from Sydney to Melbourne...out of fear.

And now, here I sit 11.5 weeks later. Scared about what it means to be coming home. It hadn't really hit me how close it was until yesterday. Myself and the friends I have made here are trying to decide where we want to make our last trips to. Originally, I was thinking about making a trip up to Brisbane to see a friend of mine from home. As much as I would LOVE to go to Brisbane and up to that part of Australia....another part of me is saying not to. And so, I'm going with that feeling. Instead, I'm going to spend that money going on trips with my friends here. As much as I'd love to see Brisbane and I'd love to see Smess....I can see Smess back in KY and I probably will. However, Tom, Craig, John, Tomiko, Jorai and Hector I am not very likely to see again. I hope to see Tom and Craig in March when I head out to Texas for part of Spring Break, but the others...Lord only knows if/when I'll ever see them again. So, I'm going to make some trips with them in the next few weeks instead.

Next weekend, we're going camping at Wilson's Promotory...which is the southernmost point in Australia. The weekend after that we're going to make a 3/4 day trip to Kangaroo Island and Adelaide. The next weekend we're throwing the Halloween party. The weekend after that is the last week of the semester and we have both our Exchange Student Farewell Ceremony and a "Returning Home" session. It is also the Day at the Races that Saturday...which is basically, like Oaks Day in KY. The following week begins exams and Thanksgiving. The day after Thanksgiving (the 23rd) they are all leaving for New Zealand and I will be packing my bags and flying out of here for home on the 27th. In between there, I have a test, 3 papers, and 2 finals. It's going to be a CRAZY 7.5 weeks....and I realize now how absolutely quickly it's going to fly by!!!!

I haven't really done a whole lot this week besides classes and homework. I know for one thing that I have not gotten much sleep as I've been doing a lot of reading/homework. A little bit ago, I just got back from getting dinner at Cafe FM and seeing December Boys with Theresa. Then, we were on the tram on the way back to campus and out of nowhere, Craig and Tom sit down next to us! They were on their way back to campus from Tomiko's apartment....how CRAZY is that...we were on the same tram! So, we went to the back of the tram where John and Tomiko were sitting....Theresa and I kept feeling like we were just dreaming this and that they weren't really on the same tram as us...it was so weird!!!! Anyway, they're all changing...we had to walk quite a bit from the tram stop back to campus and it was pouring down rain and then we're going to Jill, Valerie and Cindy's apartment for a while. Tomorrow night, we're going out for Stef's 20th birthday to a club/bar over in Carlton. And then Sunday, we're going bowling...we haven't been in quite a few weeks. We're trying to just soak it all up while we can make it last!

Well, I guess I better get going as they should be calling any minute saying to head down to meet them downstairs. Love to everyone back home...should be an exciting following 7.5 weeks as I'll be trying to pack as much in as I can!!! I'll be home before we know it.

Love to all,
Katie

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb