Mooching about in Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
June 2nd 2009
Published: June 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Digeridoo Dance dudeDigeridoo Dance dudeDigeridoo Dance dude

Drum and Bass meets tradition Australian instrumentation
Hello!

I made it to Melbourne! Wierd to think I'm on totally the opposite side of the globe. I now see what people mean about Melbourne being much like an English city. I feel very at home here and not very far away at all. I'm staying at a very happening hostel in St Kilda, with some great roommates and a bar just downstairs, where I have spent pretty much every evening so far. The only exception being Saturday night, when Nina and I went to her friend Jani's prison themed 25th birthday party. Prison themed because 25 years is a life sentence here. We all wore some very sexy orange overalls.

Sunday was a lazy day spent watching aussie rules football on TV and various aussie comedy sketch shows. Gotta get to know the Australian culture!

Having got to know the St Kilda area on Saturday (it is right by the beach with lots of quirky shops and cafes - i like!), on Monday I had a mooch about the city centre. I walked all the way to the city from St Kilda, which took over an hour, but invloved a lovely wander through Albert Park and then alongside the river Yarra. In the city I saw some of the main sights: Eureka tower, Flinders Street Station, Federation Square, Rialto towers, etc.

Nina quit her job here yesterday - it was a rubbish marketing job, so she is now free to explore with me a bit more. But first she needs to get another job lined up, so we're going to hand around CVs today. I wasnt planning to get a job yet, but if I can earn a few pennies now it wouldn't hurt, so I'm going to join the job hunt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Bees!Bees!
Bees!

At Eureka tower


2nd June 2009

Serendipitous St Kilda connection
Yay! Blog access now sufficiently technophobe-proof that I can see all that you are up to!! Gutted I didn't catch you while you were in Hong Kong to ask if the food was anything like the kind of chinese you get over here... Melbourne looks cool!! Weirdly I spent this morning with a Belgian actor helping him practice lines for a Scottish Opera called St Kilda which will be at Edinburgh Festival this summer... never heard of the name before and then twice in one day - freaky or what?! Lots of love and keep the news coming... Alison xxx
8th July 2009

Hello! Sorry I only just found your comment, seems that I havent fully got the hang of this system yet either! Glad you managed to get access in the end! The chinese food was a little more adventurous than back home...some stuff that I would be concerned about trying, but the food I did try was yummy and much less greasy than the chinese back home. I'm guessing that St Kilda must have been named after a place in Scotland then...very bizarre coincidence! lots of love H x

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb