A day at the beach/Beautiful view of Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
January 1st 2009
Published: January 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The Martians are coming!!! 47 secs
WickedWickedWicked

this is a picture of my program and my light up glass for which I used to buy an OZmopolitan...it was green
Ok so today even though its wasn't supposed to reach more than 67 degrees I decided to go to St. Kilda beach. I took the tram from the city and it took about 35 minutes. This is more of a touristy beach than anything but I just wanted to see the beach. There wasn't much to it. There was a nice view of the city but I wasn't impressed. After this I returned to the city to see Rialto to see the city from the 55th floor from a 360 arial, St. Augustines and contraversial corner. Later that evening I returned to the 360 floor to get shots of dusk/sunset. From there I went out with Petar to end the evening. While waiting for Petar there was this man dressed in a space suit on the corner singing and dancing with a spaceman voice. He was singing about the martians coming and all sorts of things...check out my video of it. To view the video and hear it you have to turn all your volume up as loud as it goes because it's very quiet. From there Petar and I went to this really interesting bar that was between two buildings. It was really neat and the energy was great!!

Ok so a little about controversial corner. This is a corner where they put up obscure artwork about every month just like the photo posted. This artwork would really get your attention if you are just walking down the street.

There is this fast food restaurant here owned by Burger King thats called Hungry Jacks...just makes me laugh...look at the picture.

Another thing I wanted to bring up is the P sticker. If you are a new driver the first 5 years you have to have this sticker on your car that is a capital P. This signifies you are a new driver and the fines are higher if you break the law during this period of time...interesting.

One of my friends thats in my class at Slippery Rock visited Australia in December and came back right before I got in. She was closer to Sydney and she has a picture of the Bunjulung Country law/saying that they live by and it couldn't describe the lifestyle here more perfectly. Most of Australians or atleast the ones I've met live simularly.
The saying is: We belong this country
We look after this country
Don't do wrong around here this country
We don't harm this country here
We belong to it this country
Bunjulung Elders

So a very ironic story that I forgot to add...I'm sure you all know I'm a huge Steeler fan, well last night at dinner I went alone to this nice italian place. I sat by myself but was eventually joined by an older man who was a single and there were no seats. I didn't mind because I didn't have anyone to talk to. Well he knew one of the owners which eventually came over, Andrew. Well we got to talking and Andrew is a huge steeler fan. He just returned from the US 2 weeks ago and was at 3 steelers games and 1 philly game. How crazy is that. He gets NFL ticket and watches all of the games. So now I can say I have a friend thats Australian and loves the STEELERS!!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 54, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

St. KildaSt. Kilda
St. Kilda

a shot of Melbourne
St. KildaSt. Kilda
St. Kilda

Luna Park
360 arial room at the Rialto 360 arial room at the Rialto
360 arial room at the Rialto

Flinders Station and Fed Square


3rd January 2009

nice pics looks like u r really enjoying yourself
4th January 2009

WOW!! What a view Jess! Gorgeous pictures!
6th January 2009

Love all the pics. You've already done so much in such a short time! How awesome! What is up with the space man?!?! seriously werid.
9th March 2009

god creation
hai,really it's too good.this is my dream city .there is no word to explain it..

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb