Lying Down Under 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
November 14th 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some of my week's highlights in Melbourne.

Monday
I went into "the city" ( how Australians say downtown ) and visited some of the local outdoor shops. I bought the new Arapiles guidebook and a bunch of carrot bolt plates. The guidebook is beautiful, full colour pictures and the carrot bolts are weird seems like it'll be harder to onsight sport climbs because you're fiddling with gear for longer.

I met up with Paul and Ashley, and Mike who I went to high school with and had a few drinks at some local pubs. We found a cafe/bar called the Banff after Banff park in the Rockies, they even had a poster up of the hotel in Banff. They gave us free muffins, it's a nice place.

Tuesday
I walked around the University of Melbourne campus, it's really beautiful but maze-like with lots of courtyards and footpaths that don't look like they go anywhere but actually do. I joined the Melbourne University Mountaineering Club while I was there so hopefully I get to climb with some of those guys, they seemed pretty cool.

Wednesday
I walked to Mike's flat and we rented a car from a local shop and we picked up Paul and Ashley and headed for Philip Island. It's about a hour and half drive from Melbourne. Philip Island is famous for a penguin march that happens every night as the penguins return to their nests after catching fish in the ocean. We spent the whole day there, it has a really nice beach.

Thursday
I met my friend Alice who I know from UBC when she was on exchange and we went to a cool outdoor climbing wall under a bridge on the Yarra River. It's a really long walk from the train station but kind of reminds me of the seawall in Vancouver with all the cyclists and the water right beside you. We had dinner at a chinese restaurant on Little Bourke street which was pretty cool, different chinese food from Vancouver for sure.

Friday
Bit of a mad rush to go into the city and pickup some last minute climbing gear, a sweater, and some food. Got lost on the tram ride back to St. Kilda, oh well. Checked out of the Hostel and hauled my huge pack on the tram back into the city to meet a climber for a 5 hour ride to the Mt. Arapiles campsite.

I know I'm behind on adding photos, I've got some good ones but I realized I can't upload them from my MP3 player, I'll have to do it directly from my camera. Next time, I promise.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb