Lying Down Under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
November 9th 2008
Published: November 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first day in Melbourne. I got into my hostel really late last night. The flight out of Hong Kong was delayed. Both of my flights have been delayed, turning late night arrivals into ridiculously late night arrivals. I just missed the shuttle bus from Tullamaire into Melbourne and on Sunday at 1am it only runs every hour so I waited for 50 minutes. Then when I got into the city I was waiting at a Tram station for a few minutes before realizing they were no longer running. Anyways, I took a cab in to the Hostel which was pretty cheap and got a good nights sleep.

It was really close too coming out of Hong Kong. I was on the jetway about to board the plane when this loud whirring sound starts up and a belch of smoke comes from the cabin onto the jetway. So they got everyone off the plane and had to move the baggage and all of us across the terminal to a new plane. I was actually surprised the delay was only 2 hours considering our original plane was busted.

I didn't really do much on my first day in Melbourne. I just walked around St. Kilda ( a Commercial Drive type neighborhood ), checked my email, and sat on the beach. I did play a soccer match with a bunch of guys from the hostel. It was pretty fun, lots of good players, although it was pretty hot. It was also the first time I've met Brits who were actually good at football.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

rr
r

Royal Exhibition Building


16th November 2008

getting lazy? no updated posts?
27th November 2008

Hey man I'm not doing bad considering I live in tent.
2nd December 2008

yes, but there was always a pretty good chance you'd end up living in a tent anyway...you should learn to accept that.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0398s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb