G'day Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
October 10th 2008
Published: October 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

to Melbourne!


And so the flight from Brisbane to Melbourne and the final leg of my Aus-O-Rama. Another good flight down to Melbourne (turbulence permitting) and again the 2 and a half hours flew by.

A great vista of the city as we flew in and being in seat 4b meant me being off the plane in now time at all, a quick wait for the bags and then off to find a transit to St. Kilda. Unfortunately for me a very unhelpful Aussie (the first I encountered) greeted me at the transit desk (think male equivalent to Vicky Pollard and Computer Says No and you have the person) and so I was to be stranded for two hours.... or so I thought.

In true Mr Ben style an Iraqi man appeared asking me if I needed transport. Indeed I did, but was slightly dubious. He re-assured me that he was authorised and with a nod from the Victoria Policeman I followed cautiously.... the angels were certainly looking down on me as I whisked to a Bentley and in I got!!!

How fabulous was this!!! And all for less than the price of a taxi to the hotel - thank you God!!

30 minutes later or so I had arrived at St Kilda - a bery bohemian part of melbourne with long streets full of cafes, bars and restaurants and at the end of the road the bay resort of St K itself. And so to the apartment.

Oh dear, no reservation under my name for tonight - I was arriving tomorrow according to them! Thank god I had the reservation with me. A few missed hearbeats later and I was given the keys to my room. A delightful two bed apartment (yes another upgrade as an apology) at the back of the complex which was nice and quiet. Outside trams bustled to and fro with melodic ringing - think Blackpool but on a much classier field.

Fitzroy Road was buzzing as I headed out to get provisions for the apartment and on my return Justine had arrived. Some pre dinner drinks and then off to find dinner for the night - we landed at this amazing restaurant where we enjoyed some excellent greek food (melbourne has the largest greek population outside of greece) and caught up on news - a fantastic way to end the day!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb