Day out in St Kilda....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
December 7th 2007
Published: January 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Friday 7th
Today is St Kilda day, so last night had got all my beach stuff ready, put my valuables away so I could run into the sea without worrying! 10ish am is a free shuttle bus to St Kilda's, offered by the YHA every Friday. Whilst I'm waiting for it I book my Neighbours Tour/Neighbours Trivia Night for Monday. Unclear why evening is $40 when it says $35, but she says it's because Dr Karl & band are playing... Hmm!

Go outside, where's the sun gone. Grab my jumper but not time for a lot else and as we get towards St Kilda (past Albert Park, and the Elephant and Wheelbarrow where the Neighbours night will be), realise could have done with bringing my real camera, rather than disposable I have, and some real money. However, have bought a book to read, so settle on the rather windy seafront and get stuck in. Slowly the sun comes out for quite a nice day, but I've lost the desire to go in the sea so instead I wander down towards the Esplanade, going past the sea baths and onto the pier - where people have promenaded for over 100 years. At the end is a breakwater where penguins and water-rats can be seen if you're lucky - today I'm not! Head back towards the high street, try the traditional cake/people-watching recommended for this area. Finally walk back towards Luna Park where the bus is to meet us again and have a nice chat with the bus driver.

After have decided is a couple of tasks must do - washing, which is so busy need to sit with it so can grab a drier in time. Second big task is trying to work out my budget as I've not really checked since I left - I had a feeling I was under in Asia (which I was if you discount the gem fiasco), but I knew Australia was costing me more than expected! Not too far off, but yes, is going to be over... Still debating on how much I want to go to Cairns... Whole point of learning to scuba dive was to go there! Hmm, sleep on it - at least had a nice view whilst working out as sat in the roof lounge. Finished my book before a good sleep - we agreed fan on lowest level this time!

Finally developed disposable camera for photos


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Penguin BreakwaterPenguin Breakwater
Penguin Breakwater

(I didn't see any)
Me @ Luna ParkMe @ Luna Park
Me @ Luna Park

(someone proposed to someone else in a Neighbours storyline here, Dylan and Skye I think)


Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 20; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb