Up for the challenge?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Malvern East
October 26th 2007
Published: October 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I had an interview today. I seen it on the web and applied immediately as I fitted the job description perfectly. The job title was Project Manager and although the job description was quite vague about what the job would actually be, I thought I got the gist. To make sure I did, I forwarded Ricky the covering letter and my resume to glance over. So e-mailed it off and half an hour later I get a phone call asking me to attend for an interview as soon as I could.

Suited and booted and feeling quite excited and confident, I headed to the interview. When I arrived there it looked like some dodgy agency that had set up shop in an unused office block. There was only the one man there, who was the man that would interview me. The excitement weaned off pretty quickly.
I filled out some forms and he directed me into an office that could only fit 2 people and a small table. It was cosy. He interviewed me for 45 minutes and then I suggested that he tells me more about the job so that I could highlight my experiences that would be relevant to the job. He gave me the job description and told me he would return to the room when I had read it. Hmmm, at this point I was thinking that the successful applicant would be the person who could work out exactly what the job was, even after reading the description. I read it. I just wanted to laugh out loud! The Project Manger would be managing the roll out of a new $3 million IT system in hospitals and community centres. Now, my IT skills are good. Better than most. But to manage a project of this scale was a big ask. Even for me, who maintained to the guy returned that I could do the job!! What else could I have said?

I asked about the other candidates he was considering. One was a Director of Nursing, who had experience of working IT in hospitals for many years. The other was a GP of 35 years who had set up his own not for profit organization and was looking for a new challenge. Hmmm. Mental! He was really helpful and gave me some suggestions for my resume and said he would try and find me another position. I never got round to ask about the salary. Maybe not such a bad thing considering - I would probably have fainted!

Chuckle, chuckle!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0729s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb