Just another day in the city


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
May 26th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

This morning was a cold and frosty November morning, despite being May!! I few days ago I committed my first criminal offence, well apart from speeding. I took an apple across the state boundary from New South Wales to Victoria. Apparently you are not allowed to take any kind of fruit across the border. I quickly ate it to hide all evidence. My first stop today however was Melbourne Jail, although I don’t think it has been used for a very long time as it still has the noose for hanging people. After repenting my apple sins in a very small cell I went up the Rialto Tower. The highest office building in the Southern Hemisphere. Despite the haze across the city I got some good views.

Once back on the ground I went for a long walk around the rest of the city and went back to Federation Square, which only a few hours ago had been packed with people watching the football. It looks so different with just a few tourists wandering around. After having some lunch in the sun I took a tram to the Telstra Dome Stadium, and got myself a backstage pass for a look round all the parts you wouldn’t normally get to see. I even managed to sit in front of the cameras in the media studios. It’s automatic roof consists of 2 panels each weighing just over 4000 tons! It is also the first stadium in the world to have built in TV screens in the stadium chairs. Very posh but why you would want to watch TV when you have spent a fortune to come and watch the game I don’t know.

I’ve yet again packed loads into my day in the city and will be having a quiet night!!

This morning I was up at 7am to go and visit the home of Neighbours. The school they use is actually I foreign language school so all the kids there are leaning English and probably have no idea what is going on. Then it was on to Pin Oak Court, the real name of the road where Neighbours is filmed. It is much much smaller in real life with some obvious camera trickery going on to make it look a lot nicer that it is. When we got there it was freezing cold! It doesn’t look like Ramsey Street with all the normal residents living there. We didn’t get to see any filming as it is a Saturday but there was a film crew from UK Channel 4 filming a documentary due to go out in October so we got to take part in that. Once the tour was over and I was back in the city I hopped onto a tram and went out to Melbourne Zoo. By now the sun had come out and it was warm. It was nice to walk round but nothing special.
I’m now back in the city for my last night in Melbourne so I have to go and work out where I’m heading from here………


Advertisement



Tot: 0.183s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb