ahhh the sunshine


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » City Centre
March 10th 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

so for the past 5 days has been a roller coaster of emicons.

i went from a care free, catered holiday in the land of smiles to melbourne, and not to knock it but it's not the same as new zealand or sydney.

it's about tougher and i've got used to it now but the first big shock i had was i landed and checked my account details and had 5000 pounds short of what i expected. excuse my french but, oh shit.
then we hadn't got anywhere to stay... and that was a bigger thing than what we thought!! the grand prix is coming to melbourne this week and so every hostel and every job in melbourne is filled with people that aren't me... this isn't fair.
so anyway we found a hostel with rooms, abit of a dive but begger can't be choosers. it's ok really.

we jumped into bed and slept for a hour or two, then i put my head together and realised i needed to find a job... quick. so i set off walking the street like a lost man trying to find these jobs everyone reckons are so easy to obtain!! trust me, they not as abundant as they think.
anywho, handing my CV's to every place possible and trying to find recruitment agencies i've had a number of replies and managed to land myself with a job selling sponsorships to people for third world children in the street!! yay, i've become annoying. but they decided my first pay check would be on the 28th and so i had to say "sorry" as i have money to last me to about the 22nd!! then like a miracle i got a phone call form the irish bar i left a CV at and they offered me a nights work! i don;t know if it's a semi-perminant, or temporary job, how much i pays, or even what they want me to do but i have work!! - so i'm looking forward to that, and the money that will out come of it.

on all this we've also met a number of people, but 2 norweigen and a perth gilr travelling together were sharing our room the first night and so we made friends. from there they invited us to a day touring in a rented car to see soe of the great ocean drive, so we took them up on the offer.

after getting up at 6 for our long day of driving se set off. we got on the motorway (or freeway as its know) and hit the speed limit. less than 10 kilometers after we heard a bang and thought we had a blow-out!! but no, instead it was just a wheel bearing gone. either way we had to get a pickup and a taxi and we rang the car company (who decided to be closed) and we left them a message saying we'd be there the next morning for our refund, and they complied, luckily for them. so that was a short adventure, it wasn't funny at the time, but looking back i am giggling somewhat!!

yesterday i spent a couple of hours on the beach with a friend off the contiki tour (who lives in melbourne) and james, trying to top up my tan. now, being the whitest person on the beach had good and bad points. good points: everyone looked at me. bad points: ladies were also looking at me 😉 but as i was still in a bad mood i didn't really care for much, so i just cooked.

i rang home last night for a pick-me-up, and mum gave me a comforting talk thats made me feel much better (thanks mum), so i treated myself to a milk shake this morning and trust me, $4 on one drink is a luxuary, and set off job hunting again, a few hopefuls today i think.
but waking up this morning, i'm no more tanned. damn factor 30 sunscreen. but i've been out job hunting and updating this blog and now finally caught up!!

so either from here i'll be blogging you shortly telling you i'm having a whale of a time at my new job, or that i'll be seeing you in less than 2 weeks cos i only have that much money!!

and on a plus, it's 36 degrees today and so everyones happy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb