Working for the weekend


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Brunswick
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Yet another exciting update to what has been going on in Australia. To be honest there is not much exciting going on, which is actually nice. Life here is actually like 'real life' now. Going to work everyday and cleaning and hanging out with my roommates on the weekend has been the norm, and I don't see that being much different if I was at home. It is nice to finally be settled.

My room is finally all in order. With some late additions from my friend Andrew, I now have a TV and a shelf (which there was no way I could have put up without help!) So now I have absolutely no intention of moving, because I have way too much stuff and my room is too perfectly set up.

In other news around the apartment we have a new roommate! My old roommate decided it was time to retire from living in share houses and has moved on to live with his sister. Our new roommate has been there since last Wednesday and so far no problems. We all went out for a few hours on Saturday night to a bar fairly close to the apartment. It was good to spend a bit of time with them out of our 'house' for once.

The Olympics have been getting a lot of viewing time around the apartment as well. I think it has been on since Friday night when they started, and somehow have been taking up absurd chunks of my time ever since. It is actually interesting to see them in another country. All of the commercials during it are pro Australia and everyone coming together etc. All the coverage also surrounds the Australian athletes, of course. It is interesting because I never really realized they did this back home (which I am assuming that they are) but just to see them from another countries point of view.

I am now just starting to plan my 'big trip' up the east coast in a few months. While I have been taking little weekend trips here and there, I have yet to venture outside of Victoria. Even over last Christmas when I was in Australia I did not make it out of Victoria. My last day of work at Servier will be right around the holiday time, so that gives me a good break before I start a new job to travel. Going up the east coast is the typical trip to do while in Aus, but I am very excited to do it! So I am just saving saving saving up as much as I can each week, so I can take a little break and go on a holiday. My guess is I will probably have like 3 weeks to do it all, which is a bit rushed, but I don't want to be out of work for much longer than that. I will update when I have more definite plans, but I am just starting to look at what I want to do.

Hope all is well back home, and that you all are enjoying the end of your summer. Be glad you are not in Melbourne this time of year, as it has been raining for days and has not gotten up past 50. Okay I know for a winter that is not bad weather, but I have become so acclimatized. I cannot even believe how cold 50 feels, when back home that would be about the time of year to wear flip flops hahaha. One more month and then I have a feeling I will experience the opposite problem of it being too hot!!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb