A


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Brunswick
December 19th 2007
Published: December 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ahhh yes, the three P's of travel: Preparation, planning and packing your dacks with the terror of it all.

I first decided to go on a trip to Thailand around six months ago. It was originally a friends idea and i got on board with a ferocious enthusiasm that surprised even me. I imagined us trekking through jungles, sipping beers on busy side streets and arguing with tuk tuk drivers as the best fucking team to ever explore Thailand.

But things fall through and people's plans change (as is life) and by the time i was thinking about buying a ticket, it was me and me alone holding the torch for Thailand. I wrestled with the idea of going it solo for ages, just too scared to book a ticket and break out of routine. Courtesy of all the doomsayers out there i also thought of all the most frightening and obscure things that could possibly happen to a 19 year old female overseas (theres a surprisingly large amount!!)

But im doing it and i can't wait. Ive booked my first few nights accommodation in Bangkok, got my vaccinations (ouch), currently waiting for my Visa in the mail (starting to get nervous about that one), got my insurance, getting my pack next week....but still looking for some sanity.

Around 25 days to go........

And Christmas is oh so soon!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb