Chocolate ban!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Hawthorn East
January 16th 2012
Published: January 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I managed to find the lindt shop in Melbourne CBD, where I had a cookie and cream thickshake with chocolate brownie pieces on top and a little cafe that sells ice cream with hot chocolate poured on top- bizarre but very delicious! After several more chocolate encounters, I decided it was time to to take a break from the highly addictive chocolat! Instead I discovered the chai latte- a frothy milk drink with spicy cinnamon and vanilla (and lots of sugar so not much better!)

Matthew and I took a tour of the city on the free city loop tram and saw the old gaol, parliament, some pretty churches and beautiful gadens with fountains. We ended up in north Melbourne, which is quite funky with more pub style bars for young student types. It was a bit grottier than Camberwell but full of character!

My friend here- Sacha took me shopping to a big Trafford centre style place which was nice. I love girlie time! There were quite a few shops that I recognized but many more that I didn't. Sach told me that people here are more obssessed with labels than back home and some shops were thought of as a bit cheap- I totally was not bothered and bught things because I liked them regardless of which shop they were from! (Although I didn't even bother going into Gucci!)

At the weekend Matthew and I went to 2 BBQs- our first in Australia 😊 and our friends have a pool and tennis courts so we were very happy!! We also made it to Camberwell market, where some funky old men were busking! It looked a bit like a car boot sale with lots of second hand clothing and other peoples junk but also lots of random stalls selling things like soap or keyrings made of lego!!!

I also managed to get a few days work babysitting for some local chldren who were very cute. I packed us lunch and took them on a train ride out to a theme park (Luna park), which they loved. It was thirty-six degrees that day though so they were shattered by home time. They still had room for candy (or fairy) floss though! Gonna let them have a chill out day by the pool tomorrow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb