Kangaroos and Koalas in a Coastal Paradise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Great Ocean Road
February 21st 2006
Published: May 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Isn't He Cute?Isn't He Cute?Isn't He Cute?

Koala sitting on a gum tree. That's all they do, they are lazy animals.
As in all the other countries I did not have enough time to explore all the good places in Australia. But before I headed to Sydney to fly out I wanted to see Great Ocean Road, the famous part of Australias south coast near Melbourne. It was a very rewarding trip, I think it's the most beautiful part of Autralia that I have seen.
As usual I didn't take any tours but took the bus and hitched around. In this manner I explored a national park of dense coast jungle and traveld along the rugged coastline around the Twelve Apostels, an especially beautiful part of Great Ocean Road. Hitchhiking was not difficult and I met lots of nice people. Sometimes it gets you into things you never would have done on your own or on a tour. So when I met Andre and Ines it wasn't long until we boarded a small aircraft to take off for a roller coaster ride into the air above the Twelve Apostles. Truely amazing!
I could not describe all the animals and natural wonder I came across in words as good sa with pictures, so I want to let the photos I've taken speak for
Stone Arc at Great Ocean RoadStone Arc at Great Ocean RoadStone Arc at Great Ocean Road

The sea formed all kind of rugged rocks at this part of Australias south coast.
themselfs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

I Can See YouI Can See You
I Can See You

Kangaroo mother with a small one in her pouch. Kangaroos give birth to a very undeveloped fetus that climbs into the pouch after birth and is teat-feed in there to develope further.
Kangaroo HerdKangaroo Herd
Kangaroo Herd

Near the sea in a cove I met a whole herd of kangaroos. In the evening they come out of the forrest to graze.
Fern TreeFern Tree
Fern Tree

The coastal forrest is full of interesting trees and plants. If you look up careful and often you might spot a koala.
Don't Touch It!Don't Touch It!
Don't Touch It!

Some snakes in Autralia are so poisonous that it might be the last thing you do...
Rocks Like SailsRocks Like Sails
Rocks Like Sails

View near the Twelve Apostles.
Down at the BeachDown at the Beach
Down at the Beach

A long steep stairway has been built into the cliffs.
Peacefull SandPeacefull Sand
Peacefull Sand

Since it was late afternoon already, I had the beach for myself.
SilhouetteSilhouette
Silhouette

The sea can be glistening like liquid metal.
My Home under OrionMy Home under Orion
My Home under Orion

I just didn't leave that day.
First Glimpse in the MorningFirst Glimpse in the Morning
First Glimpse in the Morning

To remain somewhere in the evening means to be the first in the morning.
The Twelve ApostlesThe Twelve Apostles
The Twelve Apostles

That is one of the most photographed scene in the world. As the sea is doing continous work, some Apostles tumbled down already.
London BridgeLondon Bridge
London Bridge

This one had a connection to the coast before in 1996 a tourist couple walked over it and it crashed afterwards.
Scenic Flights, Anyone?Scenic Flights, Anyone?
Scenic Flights, Anyone?

Seeing all this scenery from above. That would be great!
Captain and AndreCaptain and Andre
Captain and Andre

A flight in such a small plane is an adventur in itself. Very much like a roller coaster.


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 34; qc: 168; dbt: 0.1367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb