Halfway there!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Geelong
April 22nd 2013
Published: April 22nd 2013
Edit Blog Post

Halfway there!

So over easter break I went to Sydney for three days and I had a lot of fun! I met up with my friend Katie and her friend Mitch. It was really easy to get to my hotel except for the fact that I got lost. Stupid apple maps. The first day we just went shopping I never got anything but Katie bought stuff for her unit function because she was going to be a mathlete. We also went on a ferry and saw the harbor. I then went to my hotel to change my outfit because we were going back to their hotel for free drinks. Because their hotel was so nice, they had happy hour (well it was two hours). You got free drinks and food and it was on like the 31st floor so it had an amazing view of the harbor and they Sydney opera house. It was like a panoramic view with the bridge and everything. I just got vodka raspberrys, which were delicious, and Katie got the same as me. The food was really good and they had some amazing macaroons. We then went out for pizza and brought it back and watched a movie. Then we called it a night and they walked me back home. Bad news bears, there was construction right outside my window. They were digging up the street and it was so loud! I turned the tv on and put it on sleep so that it would drown out the noise.



The next day we decided to go back on the ferry and go to the wild life park which was so cool! I saw some more koalas and kangaroos, wombats, kookaburras, and a bunch of other Australian animals. We also saw this giant crocodile during feeding time, which was actually kind of hilarious. They had this chicken that he fed on, much different from what we did in Africa when we only had a hunk of meat and Keegan was the only one to feed them. I also got to see a Tasmanian devil finally! We almost didn’t get to see it but when we circled back it was getting released back into the enclosure. It was so adorable!



After the wild life park we went over to aquarium, which was really not as cool. The only cool part about it was the underwater walkway with sharks and stuff. But one thing that was upsetting was when I learned the bubbles fish from Finding Nemo is not native to Australia!! LIES! It was all lies! Seeing Nemo and Dory in Sydney was cool though. After that, we went to happy hour again and then we didn’t really do anything. Mitch went to go meet his other friend who was coming to meet them and I walked home.



The next day we went to the Opera House, which was pretty awesome. We didn’t actually go in but just looking at it was cool. Then we went to the botanical gardens, which were gorgeous. The boys were bored but Katie and I stayed at the gardens and just chatted. After that we just went back to the hotel to grab our bags that they were storing and then we went to the tram station. I caught an early tram to the airport and I was going to try and catch an earlier plane, which ended up being way easier than I expected. I though they were going to fight me and make me pay to change my flight. But I just checked in and it told me all the other available flights so there was one leaving in 10 minutes so I ran through security and got on the flight. Changing my bus shuttle was no big deal either! Went so smooth and got home so much earlier than I was going to!



Other than that, I haven’t really done much of anything. Mostly schoolwork, I have a ton of projects and papers I have to write! BORING! Although my one professor told me she wished I was staying for next semester because she likes the way I think.



I was planning a trip to Thailand to hit up Asia while I was over here but my friends couldn’t afford it. We would have been there for 5 days with accommodation, hotel and a tour all for 800 bucks! Plus things are so cheap in Thailand I was so excited but I couldn’t go alone so now I can’t go 😞



I also have bad news in the computer department; my computer LCD panel broke so now I have to pay 150 to get it fixed. I didn’t even drop it! I was just tilting it back and I guess I grabbed it too tight or in the wrong spot or something and it spider-webbed.



OH! That reminds me, I have a spider in the corner of my room. His name is Frank.



This marks halfway, I officially have been here for two months and have two more months to go!



Going to Cairns on Thursday to swim in the Great Barrier Reef. Can’t wait! I should have lots to talk about then J

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb