The Final Entry


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Chirnside Park
September 8th 2010
Published: September 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

My Wonderful WifeMy Wonderful WifeMy Wonderful Wife

It was because of her love and support I was able to have this exciting adventure. Thanks darling.

Volunteering The Last Chapter.



Volunteering - was it easy? No way. The cold showers (I’ve only had one hot shower since arriving here), the lack of water pressure, occasionally no running water for a number of days, the occasional blackouts, dusty roads, dodgy internet connections, language barriers, lack of the creature comforts we take for granted and of course leaving your loved ones and friends behind. All these factors make it hard work.

Would I do it again? Yes I would. Even through all the discomforts and times of awkwardness when you see the smiling faces, the friendships you make and the acceptance you get it, and the new experiences you are involved in makes it all worthwhile. Sometimes you may ask yourself ( and I have) is it worth it? Am I making any difference. Over the 3 months I have been here I have noticed that all volunteers seem to confront the same question at some time or another, has what I have done contributed anything? During my stay here I have come to the conclusion that I’m not going to make any earth shattering changes however like the gardener I am watering the seeds that have
Dusty RoadDusty RoadDusty Road

This is the main road onwhich we lived. It still hasn't been comleted, although close to. The amount of dust that flowed into the air was amazing. Every tree and bush, houses and fences were all covered in dust.
already been sown (sounds biblical doesn’t it). Each volunteer builds on top of what has been done previously enabling the growth to continue. If you don’t take this view you are going to find that you will be very disappointed with your achievements when you leave.

Volunteering can be a fantastic experience for all no matter whether it be in Rwanda or your own backyard.

As I close this particular chapter of my life I cannot go without publicly acknowledging the one person who made it all possible. Without the love and support of Gillian non of this would have been achievable. From the very beginning when I initially contemplated volunteer work with Interserve to my final placement in Rwanda through GNV Gillian has always supported and encouraged me.

She has not only been my support, best friend and sounding board but also my life line. It has been through her unselfish nature that I have been able to indulge my craving/ fantasy of doing volunteer work overseas. The biggest battle for me while over here was overcoming the times I missed her. At times I was tempted to pack my bags, call it quits and head
Charles and PeaceCharles and PeaceCharles and Peace

People in Rwanda (mostly) are happy to include you into their friendship circle. Charles and Peace welcomed me into their family and we did numerous things together. Lovely people.
home. These moments happened most particularly when a volunteer completed their placement and was heading home. When asked what where the things they looked forward to most when returning home they would all reply “family and friends” (followed closely by a long hot shower). It was at these times I most longed for home. But it was through Gillian’s encouragement and long talks on Skype (when it was working properly) that gave me the ability to continue.

On one of my blogs there sit’s a comment saying “you must have a sensational wife” to which I can only reply

“I certainly do”





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Moto TaxisMoto Taxis
Moto Taxis

A very interesting and exhilarating experience. Possibly not as fast as Jesse's in Thialand but still very fast.
Mini BusesMini Buses
Mini Buses

Otherwise know as taxies these buses were always overcrowded and poorly maintained. Everytime you got into one you just hoped you were going to make your destination.
Strange things.Strange things.
Strange things.

This gigantic replica of a gorilla takes pride of place in the centre of a roundabout in downtown Kigali. It is so out of place it is wonderful.
Smiling facesSmiling faces
Smiling faces

Rwandans have lovely open smiles. You can see the excitement and genuine interest in their smiles.
World Cup FinalWorld Cup Final
World Cup Final

As a volunteer sometimes you get to do things that you never could imagine. I felt a tad like Hugh Heffner here.
Volunteers Volunteers
Volunteers

One of the great things about volunteering is the weird and wonderful people you met. In this picture we were at a World Cup Final bash being sponsored by the Dutch Embassy in Rwanda at the De Mills Collins. Great night.
EmmanuelEmmanuel
Emmanuel

How can any of my photo collections be complete without my mate Emmanuel. He introduces himself to everybody as my 5th son. Even when a child is foisted upon me it is a boy. Where did I go wrong.


Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb