Weekend Away Part 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Chirnside Park
August 10th 2010
Published: August 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Muramba ParishMuramba ParishMuramba Parish

The room set aside for visiting Priests. This was my accommodation while there.

My Weekend Away Part 2



08/09/2010 and 09/09/2010

Got up early today so I could have a nice cold shower. The shower facilities here are better than at my volunteer house. At least they have a tap here and I don’t have to turn on the shower with a pair of scissors. There is also decent pressure . Emmanuel called on me at 6:55am and we were seated in church at 7:00. The service itself I feel followed traditional Roman Catholic lines but with a few added extras. The songs and music were obviously African, they had liturgical dance with each of the songs performed by a group of children, I suppose a bit like a liturgical choir in as much as they practice during the week for the following service. They looked fantastic in their outfits and headbands. Although I had no hope of understanding the sermon he seemed to present his topic well and interspersed with the seriousness of the lesson was enough humour to keep the crowds on their toes. I get the impression that he is a very down to earth minister, someone who doesn’t take himself or his position too seriously (he was one
Muramba ParishMuramba ParishMuramba Parish

My Bathroom. Better than I have in Kigali.
of the leaders of previous nights conversations).

As I sit here typing this entry there is an African Youth Band and Choir practising out side my door for the next service which starts at 11:30. It sound tremendous. It is a pity I don’t have the facilities to record it to my computer, the sound is so exciting and full. I might be tempted to go to the second service just to continuing to listen to them. You may say so, no big deal go but you haven’t seen the seating provided for the congregation. I swear they are the kneeling pews from other churches. I needed a crane to get me up again.

From there we went to met Emmanuel’s family and as with most country dwelling Rwandans the initial meeting is always awkward as they are very shy and self conscious, particularly around English speaking people. Because most Rwandans speak French they seem less self conscious around you if you able to speak French. Some of our Canadian volunteers who speak French have found it easier to get on with the locals. It was a slow tour of the village as every second person is a
Muramba ParishMuramba ParishMuramba Parish

My room, there were about 3 or 4 rooms set aside for visitors.
friend of Emmanuel’s and they have to stop and talk and catch up on old times. I just hang around “like a shag on a rock”.

The next day (Monday) was Election day so the church bells rang out at 6:00am to let the people know that the Polling Booths were open. I thought how considerate of them as I scaped myself of f the ceiling. I tried to go back to sleep but the noise that built up as people merrily went about the business of voting prevented me from being able to do that so I decided to get up and have a wonder down to the Polling Booths and see what was happening. It was very orderly, very friendly and very loud. People had radios blaring, motor taxis were beeping their horns as they rocked up, pickup trucks with people in the back rolled up and added to the festive occasion. As the Polling Booth was in the country there was only two policemen on duty I can’t say what it was like in the city, although I have a feeling that police and military presence may have been greater. After breakfast Emmanuel and I did
Muramba ParishMuramba ParishMuramba Parish

An example of the stained glass windows that adorned the church.
some more wandering around the village and meeting people. After three hectic days I finally made it back to my accommodation and completed typing this blog. I hope you get through it.



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Muramba ParishMuramba Parish
Muramba Parish

The Church itself. Looks good from the outside, bit barnish on the inside. Very practicable as church numbers were large.
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

The Senior Priest At Muramba Parish. (A great guy)
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

Just a typical view of the village.
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

From left to Right: Emmanuel. his Mother and Brother-in-law.
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

Just a typical view of the village.
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

Just a typical view of the village.
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

Just a typical view of the village.
MurambaMuramba
Muramba

Downtown Muramba. Not quite Knox City.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0477s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb