Penguins and Paradise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania
January 26th 2004
Published: January 26th 2004
Edit Blog Post

After my time of daily hardship - actually having to do some work for the first time in over a month - I headed towards the beach, and does Tasmania have some nice beaches. Beautiful bright blue and turquoise waters, lapping gently on to sandy white beaches. The only trouble is that the water is absolutely freezing! After only seconds paddling in it - trust me, that's as far as you should dare go - all feeling goes from your feet. Amazingly people are still seen out there swimming!? Must be Tasmanians. I visited a small seaside tourist spot called Bicheno first, which was picturesque and had the added attraction of Penguins! A lifelong dream to see my favourite birds was realised. Heading out at night to see them on their way back from their days fishing, I saw hundreds, all cowering from the light when the guide shone it over them, then gradually working up the courage to waddle out of it when they realised they had been seen. I must say though that Fairy Penguins are the smallest penguins in the world, only reaching as high as my shin. Still, they were great to see!
After a few days in Bicheno, I went to Coles Bay, a caravan park with a few shops is the best way to describe the 'town'. Coles Bay had a number of beautiful beaches within walking distance, but more importantly was only 10 minutes drive from the Freycinet National Park and Wineglass Bay. It was a great day trekking up the path towards the beach with a group from my hostel, eating lunch on a deserted beach, with only the noise of the ocean lulling me into an afternoon sleep. Life doesn't get better than this.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb