Port Arthur and it's a Sunday!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania
January 3rd 2010
Published: January 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

DATE: SUNDAY JANUARY 3RD
PORT ARTHUR AND IT’S A SUNDAY!!!
So today I figured out I have operating on the basis that today is Saturday. I figure I’ve been wrong on the day of the week now for at least a week, if not much longer. A lot of things are making sense now, like why shops were never open as they advertised and such. Oh well, it’s nice to be back on track! Combine this whole day situation with forgetting to ask the girl out yesterday and I’m starting to worry about my mental health 😉. I drove down to Port Arthur today. It was very scenic with a lot of nice beaches along the way, too bad it was cloudy and cold. Hopefully it’s nice and sunny when my dad and I come back here in 3 or so weeks. I’ve been told Pirates Cove is a nice beach, plus it has a sweet name so hopefully we can fit that in. Oh btw, I booked my airline ticket to Melbourne today. It leaves the in the evening from Hobart on the 13th so I guess I’ll be sleeping in the Melbourne airport that night till my dad arrives the following morning. After camping for 5 weeks that will almost be an improvement haha. There were really no cheap flights on the morning of 14th so that’s the way I goes I guess. This way it also works for me to catch the bus from Bicheno on Wednesday @ noon to the Hobart airport because I think the bus only runs on M, W, & F. I am actually pretty proud of my traveling plans/leaving my car plans. They are complicated but in the grand scheme of things they do make the most sense. After I drove here in the morning I went to look at the Tasman Arch and Devil’s Kitchen. They were both pretty awesome displays of ocean vs. cliff but I felt too tired to do the 6 hour walk my book recommended. Instead I went to the Port Arthur historical site for awhile this afternoon and read a book. I guess I never officially entered the park though, it’s $30 a day to go look around all the historical sites so I ended up just sitting in the really nice and comfy visitor/tourist building and doing my reading there. When I come back with my dad I’ll see he’s into the whole archeological/historical prison museum type stuff. If not there are certainly plenty of amazing hikes and beaches to see around here. I have a few big ones planned for tomorrow….I better get some rest.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb