Tasmania Experience


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania
February 10th 2007
Published: February 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MelbourneMelbourneMelbourne

Melbourne (taken from the Ferry)
Wow I have to say Tasmania is great and I am really enjoying my time here. The Ferry ride over wasn’t very exciting. I left Melbourne at 8:00 pm and arrived in Devonport at 7:00 am. The Ferry was huge; it had about 4 different bars, pokie machines, travel agent, store, restaurant, and a cafeteria. You think for the price they charge you to come across that they would have fed you gourmet meals and you would have had a king size bed with fluffy down duvet covers, but you got a chair similar to airplane seats and had to bring your own food or buy onboard. I did get to see the Comet McNaught that was visible in the southern hemisphere and won’t come around again, not sure if that was worth a $270 ferry ride, considering it was visible for the next week! But I have my car here and it sure would be hard to get around Tasmania without one. (It would have cost me about $65 to fly from Melbourne.)

The first place I stayed for wwoofing was awesome. It was a young couple. David, Felicity and their 8th month old son William. It was a
Tasmania Tasmania Tasmania

A morning shot.
small place called Preston in the Northwest of Tasmania. They live in an old Primary School House which they converted into a home. I stayed there for about a week and loved every minute of it. I learned so much about Tasmania and Australian Culture and heard loads of Australian Slang. I also had some really great conversations with them about politics, history and that sort of “adult” talk. They were very interested in learning about Canada, especially the oil and gas industry. I met heaps of people staying with them. All people very close to my age as well. We went on hikes, had dinner parties, visited other families, went shopping and Felicity taught me how to knit. I helped out in their organic garden, did a little landscaping and mosaic, looked after Will sometimes, helped around the house. It was a great experience, I would end up working for about 3 hours and Felicity would be like, ok go see some sites and have fun. So it really wasn’t work at all. I made them my “Puke in a Pan” although it was made with chocolate instead of the butterscotch chips (you can’t get them here). It still tasted really good and everyone loved it. I had lots of fun there; as Aussies would say, RIPPER!

I stayed there for a week and then headed off to my next family, a couple who lives in Western Creek, which is Southeast of Preston (I am still at this place). Laurie, Kristina and their dog Jimmy live here. They have about 40 sheep, a goat and a horse named Baby. Kristina’s daughter Tara has come to stay here as well to pick at the local Blueberry field. My mate Nadine who I met in Sydney text messaged me and told me that she wanted to come to Tasmania and do some Wwoofing with me, so she is here now too. Nadine is working on getting her Visa extended for another year so she can be with her boyfriend Dave that she met in November. (You have to work for 3 months in some sort of agriculture to get it extended and Wwoofing counts.) Today, two more Wwoofers are coming to stay here for a week. Kristina and Laurie have gone to a Festival this weekend and won’t be back until Sunday night, leaving Nadine and I in charge. We
Felicity and David's PlaceFelicity and David's PlaceFelicity and David's Place

This was taken at a Fondue party we had. David is at the head of the table and Felicity is to the left.
will have to show the two new Wwoofers the ropes.

Kristina and Laurie have been Wwoofing Hosts since 1997 and I am the first Canadian that they have had. Here I am helping with some painting on the new yoga studio they have built, looking after the garden as well as cooking some meals. Most of the meals here have been vegetarian which I don’t seem to mind. Red meat here isn’t very good, tastes sort of like liver, YUCK! I miss Alberta Beef! 😞

I have done heaps of baking here (thanks Mom for some recipes). They seem to enjoy the treats I make. I like them too but my ass doesn’t and I’m not talking about my Red Ass. Everyday I wake up early and go for a bike ride around the block and take Jimmy with me. It is approximately 5.5 KM so it is a decent ride. I miss riding my bike so much so it feels good to giver again. I feel really grounded here. It’s like a “normal” life. It is also great to be able to unpack your bag and settle in for awhile. However, Nadine and I are off on
Western CreekWestern CreekWestern Creek

This is where I am staying at now. It is a perfect setting!
Friday for our next adventure. We are going to a Forest Festival - its main purpose is to educate people and save the forests of Tasmania from all the logging. We will be camping out the whole weekend, than on Monday we are in search of another Wwoofing Host to take us in for a few days on the East Coast of Tasmania. We are making our way south to Hobart for the end of the month and plan on being back on the mainland on March 4.

Tasmania is a beautiful place. Rolling hills, mountains, grassy plains and easy going locals. I have seen more wildlife here then on the mainland as well. I have seen heaps of wallabies, which are a smaller version of a kangaroo. Mind you most have been road kill but hey it’s wildlife or rather wilddead. The other day I turned on the tap to get a drink of water and a scorpion fell into my glass (the water where I am staying comes directly from the creek). That was exciting. It was just a little one. Apparently they like to hang out in bathtubs, in shoes, and beds. I am constantly checking
Work Time!Work Time!Work Time!

Looks more like...DANCE TIME!
my shoes (and bed) before putting my feet in to make sure there are no squatters.

About 4 days ago I was in the garden and I could here something move under the apple trees, didn’t think anything of it. Then I heard the birds chirping like crazy, so I looked a little harder, a snake! “Nadine, Nadine, there is a snake under the apple trees, quick get the cameras!” We were so excited. We got close enough to get a picture but when it started pointing its head towards us we backed up very quickly. Apparently snakes cannot see and they know you are there by the vibrations you send through the ground. As it moved forward and along under the trees we kept our distance, snakes sure can move fast! We think it went down to the tall grass and ditch, but that was a little disconcerting as I walk down there quite often on my way to feed Baby some apples. I haven’t been down that way since I saw the snake. We were told it was a Tiger Snake, I think they are the 8th most venomous in the world.

I also went to
Baby in the Moon LightBaby in the Moon LightBaby in the Moon Light

Taken just before the full moon. This photo is taken from the front yard. Baby is a little hard to spot.
the local wildlife park where I got to learn about Tasmanian Devils. Nothing like the cartoon character at all. In fact these little creatures aren’t devils at all. They are scavengers and will eat anything meat they aren’t picky. They tend to feed on road kill which unfortunately usually makes them road kill. But they won’t attack you and gnaw on your leg; in fact they are quite scared and shy. All the pictures you see with them showing there teeth are actually them gathering more air in their lungs so they can bolt running. They can’t see very well either as they are nocturnal animals. Their jaws are strong enough to crush every bone, except for skull only because they can’t get their jaws open far enough. They do make this awful sounding screech like they are about to mutilate something.

Oh I did see an Echidna the other day in the ditch (plus at the wildlife park). Thankfully this little spiky dude wasn’t dead; he was probably searching for ants. They have spiky bits on them sort of like a porcupine, but they don’t leave quills in something that attacks it. They eat ants and waddle along,
CRIKEY !CRIKEY !CRIKEY !

Can you spot the snake?
very cute.

The weather in Tasmania is not the warmest. We have had a few really hot days (about +28) but nights are very chilly. I hope to hit some beaches when we go to the east coast, hope the weather picks up.

Not sure when I will be able to update again. Internet is not readily available here in Tasmania and when you do find it, it’s like $8 an hour…Crikey!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Tasmanian DevilsTasmanian Devils
Tasmanian Devils

Aren't they cute?


10th February 2007

So good to read you!
Hey! So good to read you! I haven't been updated since New Years and was getting a little worried :) I've caught up now on your last two wntries. Much love being sent your way. xoxox
10th February 2007

HI
you are missed can't wait to see you. its funny that they use the word ripper my dad uses that word "lets go on a ripper", haha silly !
14th February 2007

Love the pictures!
Hey there, so good to get an update! I love seeing the pictures and reading about your adventures! Miss you tons :)
23rd February 2007

Hey
Well I'm glad to see these bulletins coming up less frequently, which must mean you're too busy have fun and enjoying your adventure. Enjoy. Hey aren't there some amazing mountains on Tasmania? Anywho. Cheers! Rob
2nd March 2007

eeek
Eeeek... snakes...
6th March 2007

What does "to giver" mean
Hi Janine. I have been a lurker on your blog for a while now. Love sharing your experience of our country. You have totally thrown me now, though, with your use of "giver" as a verb. What does it mean? Is it a Canadian expression? If you are up my way (see my blog for directions) call in and see us.
8th March 2007

John and Sylvia
Hi! Giver is definitely a Canadian term. Giver means to go with great enthusiasm, I guess that is how I would describe it. Glad you enjoy the blogs, I'll definitely check out yours.

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb