The Nut.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Stanley
December 9th 2010
Published: December 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

"Launceston? Dont go there. Its a hole."
Well im happy to report Launceston actually isnt a hole, contrary to what people have told me. I found enough to keep me entertained for two days while I worked out getting a car. I visited Cataract Gorge, which was cool. Also, I went to the park where the japaneese monkeys are... random, i know. Im not sure why or how they are there. (but they are in a cage, thankfully. Monkeys are so creepy.) I Did some wine tasting and saw alot of the countryside, thanks to my new friend Jacqui. So all in all it was pretty good. From there I headed north to Stanley. (sorry- Im about to sum up the last week in one entry)

So I made it up to Stanley, a little seaside town on the Northeast Coast of Tasmania. It was gorgeous there and I spend the day walking the beach picking up sea shells. They were everwhere, big cool ones too! In the morning the entire beach was covered with tiny sand crabs. Litterally thousands, it was crazy.
I decided to climb to the top of "The Nut" which is the big ciclular hill in the picture. On the way up there were a group of wallabies grazing on the trail. (actually I think they were Pandemelons, which are like wallabies but with a rat-looking face) The views from the top were amazing! It is Surrounded by the ocean on 3 sides. just awesome.

Finally got some wheels and was sooo nervous to drive on the wrong side of the road! But, It didnt take too long for me to get used to it, and now im ready to do some exploring! Jacqui, my couchsurfing host was nice enough to loan me a tent, sleeping bag and cooler so I could do some camping. And save some money too I hope since this car cost me a arm and a leg. I just hope I dont hit a wallaby, you wouldnt believe how many dead ones I have seen in one day! And its really weird, too... they dont just die flat on the road, everytime I see a dead one, its arms and legs are sticking up in the air and its mouth open, tounge out, like they are frozen. How do they die like that? It kinda freaks me out.

After staying the night in Stanley i drove further west to Marrawah which is basically the middle of nowhere, but I found a practically deserted beach and camped there. My camping plan went arwy, however. Night fell and I was snug in my sleeping bag, when the wind picked up and was shaking my tent and after about an hour of the zippers clanking and the noise of the waves crashing I decided to just sleep in my car. This car, mind you is very tiny.. im not sure we even have cars this small at home. Anyway, lets just say I wasnt sleeping well anyway but then the wind REALLY picked up and it was shaking my car violently and started to rain heavily, I looked out at my tent that was now flattened and soaking wet and went out in the storm to take it all down at 2 in the morning so it didnt blow away. With the wind howling and the rain pounding I wasnt able to sleep much.. so I got up early and spent the day driving to the west side of the island. Bugger wind.

I drove a good 5-6 hours to the west side of the island and I must say, driving around Tasmania has made my trip. This place is amazing, the last few days I have passed bays filled with black swans, 200 year old villiages, mountains, fields filled with poppy flowers, lush forests, some of the most amazing beaches ive ever seen usually with no one on them, more sheep than i could count (more dead wombats and wallabies than i could count, too. oh and no police. which was nice. not that i was breaking any traffic laws or anthing..) And the weather has gotten much better, I even wore shorts yesterday!

Its nice to finally have cell service and internet again. I really Cant believe less than two weeks untill Christmas!! I have to keep telling myself it is December. Its hard to believe I have been here for over a month now too. Oh and the best news is...Ryan will be here in 5 days!!!

Anyway my battery is going to die so I will finish the rest of my week in another entry. Love you and miss you all!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0599s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb