Freycinet National Park


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Freycinet National Park
September 16th 2011
Published: September 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I was up early and packed up my car. I headed up the east coast towards Freycinet National park which is home to Wineglass Bay. I lucked out with a sunny day but it wasn't that warm! Very windy too.

I passed through some very cute little towns and stopped to take some pictures of the convict built spiky bridge. Many of the structures and roads in Tasmania were built by convicts. There is just so much history on this little island of Australia!

The coast here is amazing. The colour of the water is so beautiful. I arrived in Bicheno and booked into the hostel there for the night and then drove out to Freycinet National park. I popped into the visitor center and bought my national park pass. I was also told that the lookout for wineglass bay was closed.

I decided to go to all the other smaller walks in the park that I could go to. My feet still aren't too happy to do to much walking. First stop was Cape Tourville which gives limited view of wineglass bay from across the water. Such a stunning place!

There is also a lighthouse here that you can walk up to. I then headed down to sleepy bay. A great little hike to a little bay that isn't so sleepy. Very cool scenery here.

I then stopped at Honeymoon bay and walked out on the big rock with the waves crashing in. So windy here but so stunning. I stopped in at Coles Bay which is a tiny town right on the outskirts of the national park.

On the way back to Bicheno I stopped at the Friendlies beach which is part of the national park. There is a campground here right on the beach but there was no one here as it's still quite cold. I took a walk down to the beach and found that I had the whole coast to myself!

Back in Bicheno I found the blowhole and caught some great pictures of it blowing. Took some pictures of the coastline around Bicheno. Tasmania is very quiet at the moment. The hostel I stayed at only had 4 guests. We practically had a room each to ourselves. Had a great night chatting with the three other backpackers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 73, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



28th September 2011

water color is fabulous
Lovely Tasmania! How come there is no date on your entries anymore? Why don't you take a photo of your feet so we can see whats going on?????
28th September 2011

There should be dates, but if you read them as soon as I post them all the info might not be there yet? You can't see anything is wrong with my feet by just looking at them. They are just constantly sore or in pain or aching. The swelling is mostly gone now but the pain remains.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb