FAREWELL AUSTRALIA


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Port Noarlunga
December 21st 2014
Published: December 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

The last last week has gone so quick. Three days of thoroughly cleaning the house and a number of catch ups with friends and before I know it, I am only 20 hours away from starting a new adventure. It has been great catching up with my teaching mates, friends, acquaintances, my mum and my sister and receiving well wishers from text messages and Facebook, but it has also been sad as well. There is a small feeling inside of me that eats away at that says I may not see these people that have shaped who I am again, but there is also the anticipation of meeting new people, catching up with Contiki friends and seeing parts of the world I have been wanting to see since I got the travel bug back in 2011.



I remember the start of Jerry McGuire when he said he was 37 years old and suddenly he woke up inspired with his mission statement. What an adventure he had after that, but I feel like that right now. I'm 35 years old and about to go free falling into the pit of unknown. I will miss my house, the beach 200metres away and the summer sun on my skin, but will feel the new sensation of snow, and living in a place quite foreign to me. I go there as a single man, and some of my friends say that my match is over there waiting for me and that my return will be in question. Maybe I will meet someone special or maybe that journey will continue when I return.



I am very much looking forward to teaching at Fairview High in Calgary and looking to refresh my teaching skills after working the last 10 years at Willunga High School. I will very much miss my colleagues and the Volleyball Program as it will be the school's 20th year participating in the Australian Volleyball Schools Cup, but look forward to working with new colleagues and hopefully coming back a better teacher.



My new adventure is about to begin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 21; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb