An economic guide to grocery shopping in Mt Gambier


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Mt Gambier
June 4th 2009
Published: June 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The "southwestern triangle" (like the Bermuda triangle, maybe I will go missing soon?) of South Australia, composed of limestone and underground tunnels and caves, is a volcanic-soiled delight of forestry, orchards, and a few vineyards that make perfect growing conditions. Also close to the coast at Port MacDonnell, where the lobster industry is based, are many seafood options. Most of this seems to be exported for overseas purposes like the japanese market.

But this is not what you want to hear, right? You want good quality economic grocery shopping options in the heart of the Mount! With my limited 4 days of experience, let me enlighten you..

Well, it pays to know some hospital staff for the green produce I have gathered - someone put up a sign at work who sells apples for 3kg at $5.50, and juicing apples (2nd grade) at $3/ bag so my apple fetish can be satisfied. So I was in there with my order straight away. I am told they are amazing quality as these people usually export to outside Australia, and when I get hold of them tomorrow will enjoy a good crunch that is not a golf ball sized Granny Smith(home delivery an option, perfect when travelling by bike everywhere!). The fruit shops and Woolworths/ Coles sell apples for $5/kg, mandarins for $2/kg on special, bananas for $4/kg, broccoli for $5/kg and silverbeet bunches for $4. This makes it pretty expensive having come from NZ and also being used to the weekly specials obtainable at Simply Fresh, Tai Ping Northcote, the Belmont fruit shop or the Takapuna markets. And as for kiwifruit which were as low as 9c/kg prior to me leaving Auckland......they are 45c each here!! Where is Mum and Dads produce delivery when you need it, let alone some well toiled Hauraki soil??

If you are caught short, the local IGA's stay open until 8am daily and have the odd good offer of broccolli for $3/head and 2L of milk for $5.

Eating out? There are several pubs here in typical Aussie fashion, and the token Asian cuisine places of a Chinese restaurant, Malaysian restaurant, and one lone sushi bar. A lot less cosmopoliton than say Melbourne but will appease nonetheless! I will have to save up my appetite for the Royal Adelaide show in early September should i be still here. Rodeos and agriculture and farming types all meeting in Adelaide so it sounds exciting.

As for the long weekend ahead....I may end up chopping firewood in a random paddock north of Mt Gambier with new friend and her partner....oh the country life...and maybe I will pop over to Bunnings Warehouse, opposite which i live, and grow my own silverbeet?? HHhmmm, the possibilities. Then again maybe browse the remaining shops I have not mentioned until they close at 12pm Saturday never to open again until monday morning. this really is country living!

Until then...




Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb