Coober Pedy


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Coober Pedy
June 29th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What an amazing place. Much of Coober Pedy is underground, so of course we had to stay in a motel where our room was carved out of solid rock . . . I never dreamed I’d have claustrophobia after the summers during university I taught caving, but with only a 150 mm (6”) vertical pipe venting the room to the outside 20 metres (60 feet) above, it has been a real struggle convincing myself I can still breath okay. Really interesting displays on opal mining. Learned the difference between a doublet and a triplet (both are just thin slices of opal glued to a backing, the latter with a clear crystal outer layer)



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb