Wine Tasting in the Barossa Valley


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Barossa Valley
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today my housemate Jules took me, Laura and one of our volleyball teammates Jo to the Barossa for a day of free wine tasting! It was great to be driven through the hills and we saw lots of vineyards. It really is a beautiful part of Adelaide. We went to many wineries throughout the day, my favourites were Rockford and Cockatoo Ridge. By lunch time I was in need of a good feed! We found a nice little restaurant in one of the towns and I had a juicy porterhouse steak with a pepper sauce. After lunch we went to more wineries including Peter Lehmann, Grant Burge and Jacobs Creek. I bought a bottle of Peter Lehmann 2002 Shiraz Muscadelle. It was the wine of the month and I'm saving it for a very special occassion!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Drinking wineDrinking wine
Drinking wine

The Grant Burge Winery- very nice shiraz
Cockatoos in the tree!Cockatoos in the tree!
Cockatoos in the tree!

outside cockatoo ridge winery!


13th April 2007

Special occasion?
Well what better special occasion could there be than coming home! The joy it would give you to share a special bottle of Australia's finest vino with your mummy! I almost can't wait! Glad you both had a great wine tasting trip though the bottle of wine was nearly as big as Laura! I'm glad she didn't fall into it! Loved the cockatoos too - saw some yesterday at Colchester zoo though they weren't flying free of course! Lots of love darlings, Mum xxx
13th April 2007

Coming home!
Coming home is without a doubt the biggest special occassion I have coming up but unfortunately with the crappy baggage allowance I need as much room in my case as I can get! So will probably have to drink it as a farewell! Don't worry though we can recreate the Ozzie wine theme with a bottle of Jacobs Creek from Tescos! (Not quite the same I know!) Miss you lots mum x x x
14th April 2007

Big Bottle of Wine
What a huge bottle of wine I reckon even your mum would struggle to finish that though I am sure she would give it a good go. Hope all is good looks like great fun. See you both soon, love Nicki and Chris

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb