Adelaide - impressions and experiences


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
April 5th 2013
Published: April 5th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Dagbog. Diary - det bliver på engelsk denne gang, da jeg er for doven til at skrive på dansk.


Adelaide - impressions and experiences



When I arrived to Adelaide on the 18th of March, I was really impressed by the city. It's a "small" city, but the infrastructure is genius: in the very middle of the city, you have the CBD (downtown) where everything is centered and in walking distance. Universities, libraries, museums, galleries, shopping streets, party streets, hostels and restaurants. You can see all the exciting things in just a few days and you can easily get out of the city aswell - all you have to do is jump on one of the free trams running 24/7.

With everything worth seeing right in front of me, I was eager to get going. I visited the art gallery, which happened to have a temporary Turner exhibition (British painter in the romanticism) and having already seen the same exhibition in Tate Gallery (London), I was eager to revisit and revise my opinion of his paintings. As expected, I ended up spending 6 hours in the art gallery and had to leave because it was closing down. I went back to my hostel, The Blue Galah, which was situated smack in the middle of Adelaide CBD.

It had a reasonably big kitchen and common room and an awesome balcony bar attached to it. What more can you ask for? We had big, cheap pints of beer and cider on demand all day and all night. On the website, where I booked the hostel, it said that the hostel would have a pool table and free wifi, but that was a dream. I never found either. Adelaide is probably the down where I have been partying almost every day. It hurts the wallet, but it's incredibly hard to resist going out with all the new and awesome people you meet every day. We found a few really nice places to go to, but the party always started on The Balcony. Always. I spent most of my time on the hostel with a big group of people (mainly British, Irish, Northern-Irish, Scottish, Canadian, German, Dutch, Belgian and Schwiss).

We drank a lot of good goon in the goon-room and I haven't got time to write all of the stories, but one in particular comes to mind right now. It happened yesterday and i'll put on my narrator-hat and tell you the story: I met a French guy today and for the first time I couldn't hear his French accent. I told him that he was awesome and asked him how he managed to get rid of that accent, and he was really happy that somone noticed it, because he apparently had had a hard time losing the accent. We talked a bit and agreed that we really needed to get super drunk tonight, because it was my last night in Adelaide.

The Balcony was unfortunately closed, so we had to buy some goon. We bought one cask each - 8 litres of shitty white wine. Luckily, we didn't have to drink ALL of it ourselves, because we happened to meet two dutch girls, who had just checked into the hostel. Spellbound by my good looks and my excellent skills of pursuation, we only had to ask ones - game on, buddy! We went to their room (a room filled with 10 teenage girls from Holland, Germany and Sweden) and opened up the goon. Ones again, I managed to pursuade a group of swedish, german and dutch girls to join our drinking game and get absolutely mental. The game was Ring of Fire (Waterfall) and the rules were simple. As expected, we got drunk really fast and didn't really have the opputunity to go, because everything was closed. The last thing i remember from that night was walking out of the girls' room, everything from there is in bits and pieces. I managed to get something out of a few guys I talked to this morning though. They told me, that the dutch girl we had been drinking with had thrown up in the hallway of the hostel. It all ended up in her refusing to clean it up, so the hostel called the police and she got picked up so she could spend the night in the police station to sober up. I had been hanging out on the balcony with a german girl during this period of time, so we kind of missed out on the fun.

The French guy we were hanging out with got sick aswell and threw up in his bed and got kicked out of the hostel in the middle of the night. I helped him carry down all his stuff because he was in a horribly drunk state and tugged him in a coat and a sleeping bag on a bench a bit further down the street. Needless to say, I wasn't exactly sober myself and ended up sleeping on the floor in the common room of the hostel, because I forgot the keycard that opens my room in all this mess. The End!

Now I have a terrible hangover and am craving a pizza or fries, but fastfood doesn't exist on The Ghan. The Ghan is a train, that connects Adelaide - Alice Springs - Darwin. I am hopping off in Alice Springs and the train trip will take about 23 hours. I can say already that it's lovely to get out of the city. After 12 days of job searching without any luck it was time to move on and go to somewhere else. The Outback is so vast and it's kind of hard to imagine a desert landscape like this, where the only thing in sight is a few mountain ranges in the horizon. I am looking forward to watch the sunset and the stars tonight!

Speak to you soon - greetings from "The middle of nowhere" (Population: 0)

Advertisement



10th April 2013

HAHAHAH
You crazy shit! :-D I almost pissed myself! xD So lovely to hear you're having a blast m8! Missing you back here, but DAMN it must be awesome in Australia! ;-)

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb