Tennis, tennis, all around and none for me to play ;-)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 18th 2013
Published: February 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Hello again everyone

Sorry it's taken me so long to get my act together and update this blog. My time in Melbourne was very busy but I have now moved on to Adelaide and with the heat here being in the high-30's, I have decided to hide out in my hotel room and catch up with a few things. As there's quite a bit to update you on, I'll probably do at least two separate postings about the past five weeks.

So, a few months ago I pre-booked a two-week stay in a 'serviced apartment' in Fitzroy in Melbourne for the duration of the Australian Open because I knew that accomodation convenient for Melbourne Park would be hard to come by. However, when looking for somewhere to stay for my first 3 days in Melbourne the same apartment was much more reasonably priced so I booked it. Once I'd been there for a while and liked it a lot, I then negotiated a good rate for the rest of my stay in the city. It is so much more pleasant having a fixed base rather than having to pack up and move every few days. The apartment had everything
Fitzroy GardensFitzroy GardensFitzroy Gardens

Old bandstand
I needed, it was close to a park, close to trams and only a 20 minute walk to Melboune Park for the tennis. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and I felt really comfortable there. Also, rather than staying in a hotel it meant I could self-cater which is so much cheaper than eating out all the time.

My arrival in Melbourne started with a bit of tennis star spotting at the airport. Waiting for baggage I saw Daniela Hantuchova, Sania Mirza, Fabio Fognini, Marinko Matosevic and veteran Peter McNamara all waiting around for their many bags and sports equipment. My first few days were spent getting my bearings and finding out about transport etc., buying food, washing clothes - the unglamourous side of travel! I also managed to fit in watching the rest of the Sydney tennis tournament which was finally won by Bernard Tomic, the talented but troubled young Aussie, and Agnieska Radwanska, last year's Wimbledon finalist.

I checked out the best route to the tennis and realised that I could get there by walking through Fitzroy Gardens which is a beautiful park with fountains, statues and a lovely old bandstand. On my various walks through the park I must have seen at least 6 brides (sometimes with their grooms!) either on their way to their weddings in the park or having photos taken against the pretty backdrops.

A smaller park opposite my apartment had the East Melbourne Tennis Club contained in it with four astroturf courts. I went over there to ask whether I would be able to join in with their social play session at all, but unfortunately they don't have one and no other suggestions were made. Even though I've managed to play a couple of times during my trip, I've really been missing playing regularly. I've done an awful lot of walking throughout my trip, so I'm hoping that it will not come as too much of a shock to my legs when I start playing again ;-)

I was very lucky to have tickets for 6 days at the Australian Open. I had bought tickets for 4 days online a few months before my trip, and because I had joined the Australian Tennis Association, they sent me 2 ground passes I could use any day. I chose to go first on the Tuesday because Murray was playing and
East Melbourne Tennis ClubEast Melbourne Tennis ClubEast Melbourne Tennis Club

View from my apartment block
I would be able to watch him on the big screen there whilst spending some time looking around the grounds and finding the couple of areas I could use as an ATA Member away from the crowds. I found the Australian Open to have a different feel to Wimbledon and the US Open. It seems much more relaxed, not so busy and has more casual security. I found a chair in the shade in Garden Square (area with lots of tables and chairs by food outlets) to watch Murray on the big screen whilst chatting to a lady who had chosen to live in Melbourne partly because of the tennis. Later that afternoon I managed to get onto the court where Laura Robson was playing Melanie Oudin. It was like sitting in an oven, but it was worth it as the atmosphere was good and Robson won :-)

My next day at the tennis was on the Friday - I had bought a daytime ticket for the Hisense Arena and by chance Heather Watson was first on, against Radwanska. She fought hard, but just didn't have enough to get past the number 3 seed. However, I think Heather did
Rod Laver ArenaRod Laver ArenaRod Laver Arena

I've arrived!!
well to get to the third round. My seat was in the shade all day so I was very comfortable watching all the matches.

I decided to use my second ground pass the next day because Murray was on again and there would also be the mega match for the Australians - Federer v Tomic in the evening. First I walked into the city, to Federation Square which they use for events and where they have a tourist information place. I picked up loads of info and bought a travel pass which you have to have to use the buses, trams and trains as you can't use cash. It works like an Oyster card. I then discovered that I could walk along the Yarra River to the tennis - it was a really nice walk with big pieces of sculpture to enjoy along the way. When I got to the tennis I tried to get onto the court where Laura Robson was playing Sloane Stephens but the queues were too long. Unfortunately Robson struggled with an injury and Stephens won, but for the tournament it set up quite a story with Stephens going up against Serena next.

I
Melbourne ParkMelbourne ParkMelbourne Park

View across part of the complex
watched the Murray match on the big screen, perched on a low wall in Garden Square. As it was a Saturday the grounds were much busier and there were quite a few people sitting around eating and drinking which was nice. However, there were a few guys getting quite agitated and drunk and there was the odd scuffle between two groups. It made me feel a bit uncomfortable, even though the security people were keeping an eye on them, so I decided to walk back to my apartment and watch the Federer/Tomic match on the TV. It was a great match but with the expected outcome. I think Federer likes to play the younger guys to show them that he is still a force to be reckoned with!

The next day I met up with Katie Andersson, the daughter of Gill who I used to work with. She's working at the Open on a short term contract because she's trying to establish a career in the tennis world. We had lunch and discussed our travel experiences. She'd been to Sydney before coming to Melbourne and was then going to travel around New Zealand for a month before going home.
Garden SquareGarden SquareGarden Square

Watching Murray on the big screen
She's been to Australia a few times so had friends to catch up with all over. It was nice to chat with someone I know who's done trips similar to mine and get a few tips. I didn't see Katie again before we both moved on, but I know from facebook that she's having a great time in NZ.

I had tickets for all the quarterfinals on the Rod Laver Arena on the second Tuesday and Wednesday so I saw some great matches plus some mixed doubles which is always fun. The matches on Wednesday were more interesting with Serena losing to Stephens in a dramatic fashion, Murray winning fairly easily against Chardy and then Federer in a brilliant five-set battle with Tsonga - great stuff! The atmosphere there was amazing and there was real support for both players. I would have liked Tsonga to win as I love to watch him play, but I think he ran out of faith in himself towards the end. On both evenings I walked back from the tennis around midnight. There were some people about and I stuck to main roads which were well lit so I felt quite safe.

I
Garden SquareGarden SquareGarden Square

The crowds
suppose the only Murray match I wish I had had a ticket for that I didn't was the semi-final against Federer, especially as I had a ticket for the final and really wanted Murray to be playing. I honestly thought that Murray had a good chance considering how the second half of 2012 had gone for him, but you never know what Federer will pull out of the bag when a grand slam title is on the line. As it turned out, they played a brilliant five-set match and Murray came out on top to win himself another chance against Djokovic in the final.

Another controversial match happened in the ladies competition when Azarenka mis-used medical timeouts to disrupt her match against Sloane Stephens. I really think she knew exactly what she was doing and should have been penalised for gamesmanship. Her final against Li Na also had its fair share of dramas with Li Na falling over twice and having to have medical treatment, as well as having to halt the game while the Australia Day fireworks went off all around the city! The crowd were behind Li from the start due to Azarenka's antics in the semi,
SignpostSignpostSignpost

Where next?!?!
but when Li showed such character in playing despite her injuries she really did have the most support. However, Azarenka is known for her strength in not caring what the crowd thinks (she ignores all complaints about her 'grunting'😉 and she carried on regardless, beating Li Na 4-6, 6-4, 6-3.

I had bought a ticket for the men's final (at great expense - thanks Mum & Dad for the contribution!) because I had found it so frustrating when I was in New York in September and Murray had got to the US Open final and I had to watch it on TV. So I was thrilled that Murray had made it to the final here. Before the main event, there was the mixed doubles final where two Australians, who had entered on wild cards, beat the two highly-seeded Czechs to win the title. A great start for the Australian crowd.

Going into the final, I did think that Djokovic would be the likely winner as he had been tested more during the fortnight, although it meant that he had had to work harder than Murray overall. Murray was coming in after a tournament win in Brisbane but he
Laura RobsonLaura RobsonLaura Robson

On an outside court where she beat american Melanie Oudin
really would need to play an aggressive match against Djokovic to beat him in a grand slam final. Unfortunately, he didn't do that consistently. The first two sets were very competitive and they had one set apiece, but I didn't feel that Murray was moving as well as usual and was starting to get too defensive. He took a medical timeout for blisters on his foot and after that he really didn't get back into the match. Djokovic won 6-7(2), 7-6(3), 6-3, 6-2.

It was a disappointing end to the tournament for me, but overall I really enjoyed the whole experience and was so pleased that I saw the matches I did. I find it so interesting how the different grand slam tournaments have such different feels to them. In Australia it doesn't feel as crowded and generally there is a good atmosphere around the grounds with all the nationalities being supported well, probably due to the diverse mix of immigrants in the country. The transport to and from the venue is great and the organization is very smooth. I felt a little bereft when it was all over. However it did mean that I now had time to
Hisense ArenaHisense ArenaHisense Arena

Heather Watson takes on Radwanska
get on with some proper sightseeing and meeting more new friends. More of that next time.

I can't believe that I have been away for three months and there are less than 6 weeks until I fly home. I must admit that although I am having a great time, part of me is looking forward to being back in my own home and not having to pack every five minutes and move on to a new place. However, that thought is also attached to the realisation that there is time enough for that, and the reality is that I will have to jump straight into job-hunting when I return.

Finally, I'd like to share some great news I got this week - another goal of mine is going to be realised - I will be able to complete my own Grand Slam because my good friend Rod has managed to secure me a ticket for the French Open in May along with him and some other friends so I will have attended Wimbledon, the US Open, the Australian Open and the French Open within a year. Fabulous!!

Well, that's enough for now. Apologies to the non-tennis fans
Hisense ArenaHisense ArenaHisense Arena

Ivanovic v Jankovic
for the obsessive talk about little yellow balls, but it was a real highlight of my trip to be there. I promise the next installment will be more about this great continent I find myself crossing.

Missing you all.

Jo ;-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Federation SquareFederation Square
Federation Square

The tennis was being shown on the big screen there.
Federation SquareFederation Square
Federation Square

Unusual architecture
The Yarra RiverThe Yarra River
The Yarra River

Walking from Federation Square to the tennis
The Yarra RiverThe Yarra River
The Yarra River

Sculpture along the riverbank
With Katie AnderssonWith Katie Andersson
With Katie Andersson

At Fitzroy Gardens
Rod Laver ArenaRod Laver Arena
Rod Laver Arena

A great stadium. Glad I was in the shade!
Rod Laver ArenaRod Laver Arena
Rod Laver Arena

Night time
Men's FinalMen's Final
Men's Final

Murray v Djokovic - the coin toss
Men's FinalMen's Final
Men's Final

Djokovic serves
Men's FinalMen's Final
Men's Final

Murray serves
Trophy PresentationTrophy Presentation
Trophy Presentation

Murray - runner up


18th February 2013

A lot going on
Heya That is quite a lot going on and glad you are getting to see loads of the tennis which was the plan in many ways and also that the accom is working out, I can imagine it is nice to know where you are heading. Where you off to next? Glad you are having a great time and great to hear it is going well. Mike
18th February 2013

Still very jealous!
Ta for the update - glad you're still enjoying it - you should be an expert BBQ er when you get back so I will look forward to the invite!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb