Walking Woman


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
January 14th 2012
Published: January 14th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Ok I THINK I'm getting the vague hang of this page/how to etc etc ...I think..... bear with me as I learn!

A vague interest in this walk - the Camino De Santiago - grew into a mild obsession and a firm determination after much reading ( books and Internet forums) , increasing awareness and sensitivity to encouraging 'signs' eg the symbol of the Camino - the Scallop Shell suddenly appearing in many numbers on the sands as I did beach walks.... maybe they are ALWAYS there in large numbers on our suburban beaches ? ....but suddenly I became AWARE of them.

I was 'outed' by my lovely daughter Louise at a family gathering for Christmas 2010 ' Mum's going to walk the Camino de Santiago - arent you Mum? ' and it was like it became solid, both the desire and the possibility became real -not just an airy-fairy 'Yes maybe one day' and I said 'Yes! yes I am!' - thanks Darling LouLou.... I think I needed the push.... So.... originally I was perfectly happy to adventure to Spain and walk alone..... the forums all suggest it is extrememly safe for a woman travelling alone and many do ......... but I mentioned the topic.... to Diane my curlyheaded workmate - yes she is a hair sister ..... sent her a few links I think ... did I Diane? ..... and a vague invitation 'Do you want to come too?' Di thought , read , and the seed grew for her too to be a 'YES ...... and I'm now mildly obsessed'

The upshot of that is that Diane and I are now headed for Europe in 74 days - 2/3 days after landing in London we will be walking over the Pyrenees from France to Spain..... the first leg of the 800km walk along 'The Camino de Santiago' - Google it - it's an amazing pilgrimage and has an astounding history ...or have a little look here



lets see if i can attach a pic here now.....


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



14th January 2012

I was so excited to stumble across your blog! I have been dreaming about walking the Camino for a little while now and am trying to fit it in within the next year. I hope you update your blog while you are walking! Are you doing the Frances route? Best of luck to you :)
15th January 2012

Amazement !
I couldnt believe this when I checked my page this morning..... HONESTLY I didnt think anyone apart from my family and friends would ever be on my 'subscribers' list......lol Yes I'm doing the Camino Frances.... and will try to update along 'the way' but I dont want to carry my MacAir with me _ ihave been reading many forums/tips etc and ALL suggest v minimal load carrying ....so will be reliant on Internet Cafes etc as we go..... or maybe my iphone/wifi..... Thanks for your interest! Jacqui
17th January 2012

Camino De Santiago
I had no idea you were contemplating travelling the Camino De Santaigo?Fantastic! Wish I was joining you! Such an incredible journey. You will love South West of France and Spain, so beautiful! I am jealous. Good luck keep me posted.
17th January 2012

Thanks Cathy..... It IS a big trip and Diane and I can't wait to get going..... we may see snow at THAT time of year - April- especially over the Pyrenees........ will take many many pics I'm sure...have you seen this link to a doco that has been made http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xLF3Fi1W6OY I have watched it over and over lol ! Thanks for your interest and adding yourself to my subscribers list... I THINK thats what you did was it?? Many others are struggling with what to do once I've sent the invite....can you explain what YOU did? this blogging is new to me too :-) J xx

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb