Charming and Peaceful Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
October 22nd 2011
Published: October 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!
This is my first post, so I apologize for any mistakes (if any).

I went to Adelaide about a year ago (yup, it's not so recent) and I went there to visit my brother who studies there. I spent about 10 days at this underestimated beautiful city.

I took a plane from Singapore to Adelaide via Perth. I had to wait around 4-5 hours at midnight at Perth before I can take my plane to Adelaide. I was shocked when I noticed that the domestic airport was not running at midnight, but it was such an experience. So, I, and some other travelers, just slept on the floor while waiting.

When I arrived at Adelaide, I was picked by my brother and the aunt whom he was staying with. She sent me to the motel and after that, we decided to go to the city and spend the rest of the evening booking some trips for the following week.

The next day, we straight away went to Kangaroo Island. If you want to live with the wild, this is the place! We went to the sheep breeding farm, seal beach, and penguin beach. The place where we stayed at was excellent, too. It's so simple, yet comfortable, that I felt like I was at home. Unfortunately, I didn't remember the name of the place. We can also see some kangaroos hopping around nearby. We spent D2 and D3 there.

On D4 was my brother's birthday. I gave him a T-shirt that I bought at Singapore. We also went to Hahndorf to celebrate by eating at his favourite restaurant, Pokie-Free Hotel. We enjoyed a serving each of pork ribs and pork knuckles. It was so mouth-watering. Must try the pork ribs!

Fast-forwarding to D6, we took a city tour at Adelaide. We first went to the infamous Haigh's Chocolate, then having some short trips to other places before we wrapped things up at Glenelg, the tourist attraction beach at Adelaide.

D7 was spent at the Barossa Valley, South Australia's well-known place for its wine. Every directions you look at, you can only see the wine farm. We went to a few places to try out the wines. My face turned really red.

D8 was spent by taking the cruise along the Murray River. From the boat, we can see a wide variety
Horse-pulled cartHorse-pulled cartHorse-pulled cart

From mainland to Granite Island, back-and-forth
of bird species. We had some luxurious lunch onboard and had some chats with a couple from Scotland who had been travelling for about 2 months then. I was envious to them that they can spend a lot of time travelling and decided that someday, I will also spend more time on travelling.

D9 was the last full day before I went back to Singapore. We went to Victor Harbor and took a horse-pulled cart from mainland to Granite Island. The view was magnificent and should not be missed. We also had lunch at a nearby restaurant which ranked 2nd on Fish&Chips competition.

All in all, Adelaide is more about the wildlife. If you want to see high-rise buildings and entertainments, this is not the place. But if you want to see nature, I highly recommend Adelaide.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

KangaroosKangaroos
Kangaroos

Kangaroos hopping around the place we stayed at Kangaroo Island
Pokie-Free HotelPokie-Free Hotel
Pokie-Free Hotel

Try the pork ribs!


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb