running late, as usual


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
May 18th 2006
Published: May 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am leaving Adelaide in less than an hour. Running very late, but whats new?

Wednesday night was my birthday and I caught up with some old school friends for dinner at the famous Earl of Leister. The place is definately not famous for the decor, not that parma's, pokies and plastic plants dont all compliment each other perfectly, its just that the place lacks a bit of....um....character. They are, however, famous for the sheer quantity of food that is slapped in front of you. I documented the meal, simply because after the amount of effort I put into eating it, I was scared no-one would believe such a tall tale. Seriously, the photos do it no justice, it was massive. It was easily as big as my head, and I have a pretty big head.

I am proud to say I was the only person on the table who managed to finish my meal. I am not proud to say it was a stupid thing to do and my stomach hated me for it. An all you can eat salad bar followed by two kilos of low quality beef and bread crumbs sounds like a good idea, but trust me kids, save yourself the extra $5 and get the small size. Learn from my mistake so that the pain need not be in vain.

We asked the waitress if we could get doggy bags. What self respecting uni student would throw out a weeks worth of reheatable meals? But the waitress didnt like us much because Sophie called her a nazi, and refused to pblige. That didnt stop Sophie though, and this is why I respect her so highly. A plastic bag was produced, a diversion created, and the schnitzel safely stowed away to bring happiness another day.

After dinner, with my stomach slowly churning, we went to BoHo's for a drink. The last time I was at the pub formally known as the Unley on Clyde, It was a dirty little dive favoured by tradies because of the absence of dress code and natural light. Now the place is outragously tacky, but in a really cute and oh so Adelaide way. We were greeted by a guy playing the piano accordian. Harmelss enough you say. He was wearing knee high fish net stocking, fur trimmed short shorts with suspenders and "Hans" writen in pink sequins across his trim little backside. Coincidently he was the year below me in high school and his name isnt Hans. He sang me "Toxic" by Brittney Spears, much better than she ever did.

I forgot to take a photo of my old school friends Imogene, Elly, Sophie and Ben to put in my "pictures of things that I will miss gallery", but I will miss them dearly. Leaving the country puts everything in perspective. Only live a hop, jump and a skip away in Melbourne, but I didnt was terrible at keeping in contact with people. Its good to have the type of friends that you can still catch up with after years of neglect.

After sadly saying goodbye to everyone I went into town to see Dazzla for a good old catch up and a fair solo drinking effort on his part (I still had no free room in my poor abused stomach) We talked about the world until the early hours of the morning. I was able to leave with warm comfort of knowing that the world is a stinking pile of shit but one day Darren will march his athiest army up the stair of parliament house and shoot EVERYONE. Quiet musings over bloody satisfaction is a wonderful way to wrap up a birthday. Thanks Daz, I'll miss you too.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb