Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
May 5th 2009
Published: May 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After my journey on the train, I arrived in Adelaide. I spent my time visiting the museum of South Australia where they have quite a good section on different south pacific nations, as well as quite a lot on Aboriginal culture. I also spent some time at the South Australia Art Gallery - I’m not much of an art buff - if it doesn’t catch my eye straight away then I tend to just keep walking past, so it didn’t take very long for me to get through it!

Adelaide is quite a small city, and is nice and easy to get around with its great public transport system. Part of that public transport system is the network of trams running around the city. When Adelaide was founded, it was built around four main 1 mile long terraces: North, South, West and East.

I went for a long walk along the Torrens River which runs through Adelaide. There was a big RSPCA event where lots of people were taking their dogs for a walk along the set route up and down the river, so I followed one of those, and ended up walking a lot further than I probably would have done otherwise.

I took the tram down to Glenelg, a lovely little beach town a little south of Adelaide.

I picked up my hire car - a Suzuki Swift - which I have named, rather originally (!) Suzy Swift. She’s not Kody but she’ll do! Another automatic - I think when it’s eventually time to change the Polo for something new (although that’s not going to be for a very long time!) I might be tempted to look at some automatics - driving it is a breeze, especially over long distances, and you can’t stall it!




Advertisement



27th May 2009

I'll not tell polo about the other cars then?

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb