Tour of Booty: Valentines' Day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 14th 2004
Published: February 14th 2004
Edit Blog Post

I slept great! I didn’t go to bed too early but I got enough sleep to have a good night’s sleep. There is no escape today. The mercury is set to hit 40 degrees all over SA and the Fire Brigade is on high alert to battle any fires that might get started.

Gordon and Pam call today ‘Hibernation’ as Saturday is the only time they get to rest and relax. They do have a few tasks at hand today to take care of (including me I suppose! I could have left really early this morning but it’s so DAMN hot) and then Karen realises she can’t look after her kids today so Gordon has to go over and pick them up-while she’s auditioning for Big Brother.

“This is what retirement is all about.” Somehow you can sense the frustration in Gordon’s voice because he’s been left to look after his grandkids and they need the time to themselves. Poor Gordon. Anyhow, I let Gordon know that I shouldn’t trouble him for too long and besides, he wants to come and see what the YHA is like-FOR AN UPCOMING OSF MEET IN ADELAIDE IN OCTOBER-COUTH!!!! Aidan (Avalon’s brother) bids me farewell and a safe trip-little champion! That farewell is right up there with Jackie’s!

Outside, the heat is severe and it has no mercy. It got up to 44.3 at around 3pm and thank God there is AirCon in my dorm room. Pam kept on reminding me of her days up at Leigh Creek with no AirCon, I suppose you have to thank technology for making life a little more bearable.

I venture out a few times in the twilight hours and the heat is still there. I have to come back ‘home’ because I’m sweating excessively-ewww! A cold shower couldn’t have been so much more relieving today. Even better is the ad in the paper, which says, “$1 Schooners @ Shotz”-couth mate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It’s a rort because once I get there, I realise their schooners = NSW middies, but who cares coz I have about 7 or 8 Coopers Pale Ales in one (happy) hour and the music is shit (Dj Chris Pike) and I’m not too hungry (no pie carts either!) so I get out of that place and turn right (if I turned left and walked straight I would have gone straight ‘home’) and end up walking about 3K’s east to Norwood to the Norwood Hotel (I just turned right and kept on walking!). No Happy Hour here and I was still getting those shoddy Schooners! KNOBOLOGY! Anyway, this place is a lot fuller than that “Shotz” place and soon a polar bear, Winnie The Pooh and a pimp enters and get on every girl they want to, and no one is going to stop them! Soon I’m pretty much doing the same and then I realise I have to wake up early to check out. Not again….

K’s: Para Hills-Adelaide: 15K
Running Total: 4010.5K

Advertisement



Tot: 0.423s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.2833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb